Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very hearty and tasty. Made this after learning that Kale holds it's texture in soups and stews, and it did. I used ground buffalo rather than turkey because I had some in the freezer, but I'll be making it again today with turkey. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This soup is delicious! The fresh herbs and kale make the soup really stand out from others. I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Banana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
The flavour is good, but whoa nelly, the pasta pushes the soup over the edge (in terms of heartiness)! I would use less pasta or perhaps none at all. I also threw in some chopped cilantro and a few tbsp of cooked lentils that I had left over from another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I was a little worried about all the ingredients in this soup. But it really does mingle tastes well. I followed the recipe almost to a T. The only thing I did different was to make 1/2 the pasta called for, cooked according to box and added to the soup just before serving. My family really enjoyed it as well. Plenty of leftovers for lunch the next day. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lcrouch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Excellent soup! Love the idea of fresh rosemary in this dish. Made a few changes. Definitely half the pasta. Way too much! Using leaner ground white turkey brings the total fat content down to 2 gm per serving. Used all broth (I actually used the liquid from the pasta and beans and added veggie boullion.) Needs at least 3 more cups and the entire (6oz.) can of tomato paste if you want soup. For more flavor added 1/2 tsp. of savory, a little less than 1/2 tsp. garlic pepper instead of black pepper and little crushed red pepper, maybe about 1/2 tsp. for a little heat. Wonderful flavor. Kids devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a delicious soup. I added carrots and celery along with the onion and garlic. I also added dried red pepper fakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. It was delicious. Since the pasta is added at serving you can use as much or little as you like. I have tried it both with and without the pasta. It was wonderful both ways. This can also be finished in the crock pot (and makes the house smell great as you walk in the door.) Do most of step two, then dump everything into the slow cooker for a few hours. Cook your pasta just before serving – or omit it entirely. We had just one little issue with it. How to put this delicately?…. If you are the sensitive type you might want to try a little beano® before….
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Don't understand why my experience was so far short of the rave reviews this recipe got. I am pretty good at following a recipe. I give it three stars based on good healthy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great soup. I decided to put in a cup of dry quinoa instead of using pasta, and simmered until the quinoa is done. This made it nice and thick and stewy. I also used a lot of extra garlic (whole cloves) and hot sauce because I just do that with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phinneas Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is a delicious soup that's comforting on a chilly night and super easy to prepare. I used leftover T-giving turkey, veg broth (it's what I always have on hand), and leftover pumpkin puree instead of tomato paste (I thought it would go better with the rosemary and sage). I also omitted the pasta. The only thing I'd change in the future is to add more kale. This will be my go-to turkey soup recipe during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States