Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mellomyst
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe is awesome. My husband is partial to sausage so we did half turkey/half sausage. We left out the water and noodles. Also not a fan of kale so we substituted swiss chard in its place. So good we added it to the recipe box already and his sister wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I tried out several soup recipes this winter and this one quickly became my favorite. It's hearty and flavorful...perfect on a cold day with some crusty warm bread. I subbed the 3/4 water with more chicken broth. I also cooked the pasta separate and added in just before serving. If you have leftovers you'll probably want to keep the pasta entirely separate so you don't have that mushiness a day or so later. Thanks Liana for sharing. It will be first on my list to make next winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was very good and easy to make. The one thing I will change is to make only 6 to 8 ounces of pasta; 16 ounces of pasta is WAAAY too much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I heavily edited this soup to make it both vegetarian and cream based. I used half the amount of noodles and 3/4 of the garbanzo beans amount per others' suggestions. I also used a smashed up fresh tomato instead of tomato sauce, substituted fresh cilantro for the other spices and added 1/2 cup of half and half. I topped it with chile pepper flakes and cubes of pepper jack cheese. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caley022
Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
fantastic way to eat ground turkey and kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by santitam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is a wonderful, delicious, healthy, and easy to make soup. I haven't tasted anything like it before...both the 11 year old and the 50 year old boys loved it. I didn't have beans (a usual staple here) and it was fine. I used gluten free pasta al dente. Adding extra kale is good! Fresh herb made the flavor sing. My sage and rosemary are overwintering on the south side of my house in NJ. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclectique cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was great! Only change I made was to omit the 3/4 cup water (I liked the strong tomato taste from the paste mixed only with the broth). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I really liked the ingredients. Followed the best I could with what I had on hand. Used homemade chicken broth which changed the flavor quite a bit. Next time I think I'd prefer white beans instead of the garbanzo. The kind I used had a really rough unappealing texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this soup with black beans in place of the garbanzo beans and served it over brown rice instead of noodles. This is a very versatile recipe and would work great with types of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I liked this. It was quite different than what I'm used to. (My grandfather is full-blood Portuguese and he always made this for me growing up). His had no meat or pasta. It tastes enough like it that it brought back the good memories I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States