Turkey Garbanzo Bean and Kale Soup with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
CLEAN EATING SOUP, right here! Loved this! This soup packs a pretty nutritious punch and my husband (of all people) loved it. As always and with any recipe, I do my best with what I have on hand. By choice we didn't add the noodles (but in the future will add extra beans instead) and didn't add the tomato paste. Other wise everything else was pretty spot on. Super yummy and a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
It was very good. I like to make things just as recipe states but opted out of the pasta this time but added 1/2 cup of Farro as I didn't have any quinoa. I also had to add dried herbs as our store close by is very pricey for fresh ones so used 1 tsp of the Rosemary and sage and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Took the pasta note under advisement and omitted it from recipe. Added half of a Bell pepper and Tablespoon of Spicy Brown Mustard, felt it needed a slight tang to it, mustard goes so well when cooking ground turkey. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This recipe is a Keeper. I subbed some frozen cooked turkey breast from my freezer & cut back on the pasta - but those were the only changes made. My compliments to the creator! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I have made this many times and enjoy it more and more. I don't put the pasta in because I really don't like pasta in soup. I have it on the stove right now and the house smells wonderful. This time I am using a whole turkey breast as well and the ground turkey. I have used purple and green kale in this batch. Almost makes going to work tomorrow something to look forward to because this will be in my lunch box! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe, tastes great. Fortunately my local grocery had fresh sage and rosemary. I used brown rice instead of pasta, and only about a cup per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I will make this again; it was good. Like others suggested, I used less pasta (like 8oz maybe?). I added some carrots that I needed to use up to the sauté mixture of onions and garlic. Then browned the turkey with it. Didn't have fresh herbs so I used dried, which was fine. I added more garlic than called for and threw in some thyme, too. I think next time I will add some frozen butternut squash chunks; I think that would really add to the taste. I will also cut back on the pasta more, maybe not even add it (it doesn't need the added bulk, IMO). Definitely a great healthy and hearty winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a delicious soup! Even my husband enjoyed it and he usually doesn't like beans in his soup. I altered it somewhat by substituting the ground turkey with chopped chicken left over from a take out rotisserie chicken added in the last few minutes with the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SVENSKAFLIKA
Home Town: North Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake Until Golden
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very filling for a soup. Realized too late that I was out of sage; subbed about 1 tsp each dried parsley & dried thyme. Cooked the pasta in the soup and added about 2 cups additional broth to make up for liquid absorbed. Leftovers will have soggy pasta but I'm sure they'll still taste wonderful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I thought this was very good! Had to make a few changes because of reviews and what I had on hand. I used 1 1/2 lbs. ground turkey and did 5 cloves of garlic instead of 3 (big garlic fans here) I also used 1 tsp. dried sage and 2 tsp. dried rosemary (no fresh on hand), 32 oz. chicken broth (no water), 6 oz. tomato paste, and 4 cups (packed) kale. I wanted this to be a lot thicker than a soup which is why I did no water and a little less broth. I did cover it while it was simmering so I wouldn't lose as much liquid. I chose not to make it with noodles but would probably serve it with brown rice or quinoa next time. I can't wait to try this with fresh herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States