Turkey Frame Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Yummy this soup came out great... i just added a couple things... I made the stock like it said ...added 2 boulion cubes...and about a half of bottle of apple spiced wine...sooooo goood!! it just gives it this hint of sweet...savory....YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This is the best homemade soup I have ever made!! So great for that Thanksgiving turkey carcass. I did not refrigerate overnight - just skimmed off the fat and it worked great. I used "Better than Bouillon" instead of granules and egg noodles instead of kidney beans and even my husband who is not a soup fan could not stop saying how good it was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I thought this had a nice flavor. I did add 1/3 cup brown rice during the last hour of cooking. I couldn't wait to eat it so I didn't put it overnight in the refrigerator. I didn't make it right at Thanksgiving as we already had so much food to eat. I put the carcass and some extra turkey in the freezer and made it for New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Great tasting soup! I took another reviewers advice and substituted egg noodles for the red beans and added a small amount of onion, celery and white wine to the last step. I am not a big parsnip fan, however I really did like them in this soup. Very tasty and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlin
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was soooooooo good! Even my picky husband loved this vegetable soup. I followed the recipe exactley (no noodles needed), except I only let the broth refrigerate a couple of hours, instead of over night. I can't wait for next Thanksgiving, so I can make it with my leftover turkey again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Wow!-5th time we made this. Great every time. We use the carcass from the rosemary roasted turkey recipe also from allrecipes. We use up to 2 gallons of bottled water in a 16qt pot because our carcass comes from a 25lb+ turkey cut in small pieces (use the neck-toss the giblets). We treat this as a double recipe. We always seem to have extra carrots and celery that we end up tossing so we have found that by tripling the ingredients except the parsley in the beginning really deepens the flavor. It gets strained in the beginning so the veggies are only used for the broth (save some carrots for the final Soup). Be VERY choosy when deciding what meat to use for the soup, the last thing you want is skin/gristle/fat/bone in your final soup. We cut it into 2" pieces when possible then shred it. Don't be shy when skimming the fat. We remove about 1/2" from the top when skimming the gelatinous gold broth. We found that using a large table spoon instead of a slotted worked best, easier to handle and picked out large chunks instead of breaking it up. For us the right amount of seasoning is about 1/4c of kosher salt (or 1/8c table salt) and 1/4c black pepper. We like it spicy so unless you want it with some zip you may want to cut back on the pepper. After adding the beans/peas we just turn off the heat. There is enough residual heat to warm them through, otherwise they get mushy. After all is said and done we end up with about 9-10qts of soup. Serve it on some whole grain pasta-Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good strating pont. I use leeks in my stock instead of onions and you can taste the difference. I also used canned turkey broth but all of this is up to the individual cook. make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Great recipe, but I changed it a little since I had seasoned my turkey heavily to cook it - with rosemary, sage, and thyme. I did not cook ingredients 2-9 with my carcass, just cooked the carcass in water with bouillon cubes, and then pulled out the bones, cooled it, and removed the fat. Then I added ingredients 13-19, and onion, celery, mushrooms, and garlic. I served it with sour dough bread - WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I love the way my turkey soup came out but I changed this recipe a bit. I followed the first part pretty closely except for adding about 1 cup of white wine. During the second part I added a little more white wine and pepper for flavor, 3-4 stalks chopped celery and 1 chopped onion. I skipped all of the beans and turnips. I never thought I liked parsnips but it turns out I love them in soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middlebury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Everyone loved this but, it was a bit too brothy for my taste. Going to have to tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABBITTZOSO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States