Turkey Frame Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
So far so good - I haven't actually tasted it yet - just smelled it. It does look very flavourful. My only criticism would have to do with the copious amount of thyme called for in the recipe. There's such a thing as too much of a good thyme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This was the best poultry soup I've ever made. Even the neighbors were raving about it, as all my leftovers went to them. Followed the recipe almost to the T, except for a few more dashes of spices here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This is easy to make and very tasty! I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Great recipe, but I changed it a little since I had seasoned my turkey heavily to cook it - with rosemary, sage, and thyme. I did not cook ingredients 2-9 with my carcass, just cooked the carcass in water with bouillon cubes, and then pulled out the bones, cooled it, and removed the fat. Then I added ingredients 13-19, and onion, celery, mushrooms, and garlic. I served it with sour dough bread - WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I love the way my turkey soup came out but I changed this recipe a bit. I followed the first part pretty closely except for adding about 1 cup of white wine. During the second part I added a little more white wine and pepper for flavor, 3-4 stalks chopped celery and 1 chopped onion. I skipped all of the beans and turnips. I never thought I liked parsnips but it turns out I love them in soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middlebury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made this soup on Dec. 26 with the leftover turkey from a big family Christmas dinner. My grandmother always makes turkey soup the day after Christmas, and I wanted to learn to do the same. This makes a nice, tasty soup - though I did make a few minor changes. I substituted 2 yams for the parsnips and wide egg noodles for the beans. This will become a regular "after-the-holiday" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
The Turkey soup has a good flavor and an interesting taste withthe additon of the turnips and parsnips. I don't think the beans were necessary to add to the overall flavor. All in all the soup was hearty and colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This is the best homemade soup I have ever made!! So great for that Thanksgiving turkey carcass. I did not refrigerate overnight - just skimmed off the fat and it worked great. I used "Better than Bouillon" instead of granules and egg noodles instead of kidney beans and even my husband who is not a soup fan could not stop saying how good it was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Great tasting soup! I took another reviewers advice and substituted egg noodles for the red beans and added a small amount of onion, celery and white wine to the last step. I am not a big parsnip fan, however I really did like them in this soup. Very tasty and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This soup tasted fine, but a bit bland. Most of the flavor came from the delicious turkey stock, but the finish on the recipe left much to be desired. Next time I would throw in some sage, or maybe cook some wild rice in with the stock to give it more body. Not bad at all, but certainly not great. On a positive note, I've never considered putting turnips or parsnips in a poultry soup, and they were GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States