Turkey Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Totally loved this recipe.. Makes a TON of enchiladas!! I can't imagine though how the original poster used just a 19oz can of enchilada sauce. I went though most of a 28 oz can just dipping the fried tortillas and then used the rest of that can and half of a 19oz one to top everything off before cooking. One thing I didn't do is chop the onions fine enough. They aren't going to cook, so make sure the onion bits are little..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Yummy, yummy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNICHOLSLCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bennington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This sounds like an awesome recipe as written and I really wanted to try it. That being said, I was too burned out on cooking after Thanksgiving to stand there and individually heat and roll all of those enchiladas so I made some adjustments. Instead, I used the shells to make an enchilada lasagna. For the filling, I added 1 cup of both sour cream & green chilies to the original recipe. I didn't bother to heat the shells since I wasn't rolling them. I put sauce in the bottom of a 13X9 pan, then a layer of 6 overlapping shells, more sauce to cover the shells, 1/2 the filling, repeat to end with shells and sauce on top. I topped it with more cheese and baked for 30 minutes at 375. Lazy, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Good stuff. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSVOMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These were great - our family prefers green enchilada sauce, so I used that instead, but they were really good - a fabulous way to use up leftover turkey in a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
As written I give this recipe a 3, but with a few changes I'd give it at least a 4. I like a lot more flavor in meat fillings that just plain roasted turkey, so I cooked a few chicken breasts in the crockpot with some salsa which helped the flavor a lot. To do this, put a bit of jarred salsa on the bottom, frozen breasts over that, and poured a bit more salsa on the top. About 14 oz. salsa total. Cooked on low for 6 hours, and shredded with a fork - the chicken was super moist and tender with a good flavor. I also like a lot more olives than called for in the recipe, so I tripled the amount. I find that the Old El Paso brand (medium spicy) is a national brand that has good flavor and works well in this recipes. For the most authentic taste don't precook the onions - just chop them finely. Definitely serve with shredded (romaine or iceburg) lettuce, chopped tomatoes, sour cream, and avocado slices, if you've got them. It makes SUCH a difference. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I agree with reviewer Mclean - good starter, needs to be spiced up. I added about a cup of salsa to a rice that I cooked separately ( Rice a Roni variety). I also added a can of pinto beans adopted from another recipe I've done. I added about half of the enchilada sauce to a cup of sour cream and then mixed in 1/2 my cheese to the meat/bean rice mixture. The other half of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan (with 12 lg. corn tortilas I use 2 pans) and over the top of course with remaining cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
very tasty and easy to make, my family liked the change of venue for "leftovers"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
We varied by adding 4 or 5 green onions, 1 whole jalepeno and we used larger tortillas. We also added fresh avacado for extra fat and flavor. We skipped the cooking in oil and dipping in sauce steps. We made 8 STUFFED enchiladas and loved them. This makes a great left over dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I followed others advise and added a can ofchopped greeen chilies to the mix and also put a few jalapenos on top for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States