Turkey Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Yummy, yummy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNICHOLSLCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bennington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This sounds like an awesome recipe as written and I really wanted to try it. That being said, I was too burned out on cooking after Thanksgiving to stand there and individually heat and roll all of those enchiladas so I made some adjustments. Instead, I used the shells to make an enchilada lasagna. For the filling, I added 1 cup of both sour cream & green chilies to the original recipe. I didn't bother to heat the shells since I wasn't rolling them. I put sauce in the bottom of a 13X9 pan, then a layer of 6 overlapping shells, more sauce to cover the shells, 1/2 the filling, repeat to end with shells and sauce on top. I topped it with more cheese and baked for 30 minutes at 375. Lazy, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Good stuff. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSVOMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These were great - our family prefers green enchilada sauce, so I used that instead, but they were really good - a fabulous way to use up leftover turkey in a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
As written I give this recipe a 3, but with a few changes I'd give it at least a 4. I like a lot more flavor in meat fillings that just plain roasted turkey, so I cooked a few chicken breasts in the crockpot with some salsa which helped the flavor a lot. To do this, put a bit of jarred salsa on the bottom, frozen breasts over that, and poured a bit more salsa on the top. About 14 oz. salsa total. Cooked on low for 6 hours, and shredded with a fork - the chicken was super moist and tender with a good flavor. I also like a lot more olives than called for in the recipe, so I tripled the amount. I find that the Old El Paso brand (medium spicy) is a national brand that has good flavor and works well in this recipes. For the most authentic taste don't precook the onions - just chop them finely. Definitely serve with shredded (romaine or iceburg) lettuce, chopped tomatoes, sour cream, and avocado slices, if you've got them. It makes SUCH a difference. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I agree with reviewer Mclean - good starter, needs to be spiced up. I added about a cup of salsa to a rice that I cooked separately ( Rice a Roni variety). I also added a can of pinto beans adopted from another recipe I've done. I added about half of the enchilada sauce to a cup of sour cream and then mixed in 1/2 my cheese to the meat/bean rice mixture. The other half of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan (with 12 lg. corn tortilas I use 2 pans) and over the top of course with remaining cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
very tasty and easy to make, my family liked the change of venue for "leftovers"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
We varied by adding 4 or 5 green onions, 1 whole jalepeno and we used larger tortillas. We also added fresh avacado for extra fat and flavor. We skipped the cooking in oil and dipping in sauce steps. We made 8 STUFFED enchiladas and loved them. This makes a great left over dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I followed others advise and added a can ofchopped greeen chilies to the mix and also put a few jalapenos on top for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was really good as a base recipe. I used a 20 oz of sauce. I mixed the turkey in a pot with a package of taco seasoning, about 1/2 cup sour cream, cheese, and a can of medium hatch chiles. I didnt fry the corn tortillas in oil, just heated the enchilada sauce in a skilled and warmed them in the sauce before stuffing each one. Next time I may just layer it flat. Topped with the rest of enchilada sauce and cheese before baking, and sour cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Contreras Murrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States