Turkey Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My family and I actually had a contest who could make the best leftover turkey, and I won with this recipe. I did make a few changes...I add 1/2 cup sour cream to the cheese and onion mixture, I took someone's advice and cooked the turkey on medium heat in water and taco seasoning, I also added a small can of green chiles to the cheese mixture, which I sauteed with the onions before adding to the enchiladas. I also used corn tortillas. These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I thought these were delicious. I did make a few changes, and used what was on hand. I took the turkey, shredded it and boiled it in taco seasoning, onions, and water for an hour. It turned out moist and tender and very flavorful. I also used flour tortillas and made my own enchilada sauce. Turned out very yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
My wife loved this recipe. She said they were the best enchiladas she has ever eaten. I added about 1 1/2 cup sour cream to the turkey and onion mixture and used flour tortillas instead of corn. This has become our new post-Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
As written, this would have been quite bland for us, however, the basic recipe was a great use of my leftover roasted chicken. I added canned green chiles, mexican seasonings and refried beans to my chicken mixture. I didn't dip my tortillas in the enchilada sauce either, but just poured the sauce on the bottom of the pan and over the enchiladas. The end result was delicious. Thanks Marta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I would cook the onions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Very good. I did spice up the turkey with some garlic powder, chili powder and cumin. Also added some chopped green chilies. Definately need 2 cans of sauce - I used one can mild and one can 'hot' and add a little extra garlic powder, onion powder and chili powder to the sauce. This is the best way to use up left-over turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This is a delicious recipe. I did take Bren's advice and I used 2 cans of sauce and I also added some chopped jalapenos and topped the enchilada's with a little sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was very simple, but I had to make a few small changes. It turned out to be dry so I just added a second can of sauce, 2 more cups of cheese, and more onion. I also did not roll the tortillas in the sauce the second time...I poured sauce in bottom of dish and again between each layer of tortillas. Also, add a few seasonings or may taste a bit bland. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Onalaska, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I used Costco carnitas instead of turkey, and taco-size flour tortillas. I threw about half the enchalada sauce into the filling as well, just for seasoning. Since there was less sauce in the dish now, I covered it before cooking. Came out great. Rarely do my wife and I agree on meals, but this one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
The receipe is one of the easiest receipes' I have found!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States