Turkey Empanadas Grande Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
Tasted great and looked like it took more effort than it did. I substituted a can of diced tomatoes and some tomato sauce for the fresh tomatoes. Will definitely be making this more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Tends to come out a little dry, I added some enchilada sauce after the meat/veggie mixture cooled and it was delicious! Also, if you run the meat and vegetables through a meat grinder before you stuff the shells, the texture is much more consistent and (I think) better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
After reading the other reviews, I agreed the mixture looked too dry...I made the following changes and it turned out so great that my husband and I ate almost all of it and had to stop ourselves from polishing it off. Instead of tomatoes (which I don't like), I added a bottle of Chipotle-flavoured Pace salsa - it added just the right amount of moisture, flavour, and a yummy spicy-ness. I also ditched the dried parsley (I've read if you use parsley dried you might as well not use it at all), and I substituted freshly pressed garlic for the garlic powder and fresh cilantro for dry. Easy changes on an already easy-to-prepare dish, and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
great little"hot pocket" type meal.....we use goya discos (made for empanadas) in the freezer section....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This was VERY good! I used one small can of tomato sauce and one can of mexican seasoned stewed tomatoes (chopped them up in my food processor). Had to adjust cook time on the stove to cook out liquids. But it was great. HOWEVER, when attempting to put the meat on the pie shell half, you MIGHT want to mention that you need to COOL the meat first. I didn't even think about it and ended up with holes in my shell when I folded it over. .. OOPS! hee hee - but this will go in my permanent recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
very versatile and my pre-diabetic husband loved this recipe. To change up this recipe I substituted whole wheat tortillas instead of pie crust. Secondly, you can use chicken, rice and black beans. Lastly, I used all kinds of peppers from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Moran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
These are amazing. My husband and I absolutely loved these. They taste like ones you can get in a restaurant. I did take the advice of others and increase the spices and I also added shredded cheese inside. but it was great. I told my sister she had to make it and her and her husband begged her to make them at least once a week. I will try with ground beef next time b/c my husband prefers it, but the turkey was tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I love empanadas, and as someone always looking for healthier versions of my favorites, I was excited to find this one. They were great, and my family enjoyed them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADY_ALETHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I was glad that I looked at the other cooks' tips, and I also used salsa instead of tomatoes. Made the meat mixture very tasty and little extra spicy since I used medium salsa. For some reason I ended up with too much meat mixture and wasn't able to use it all in the pie crusts. However, I saved it and used it in regular tortillas for lunch the bext day. Very tasty-- I had been looking for an empanadas recipe that didn't have pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I followed the recipe pretty closely, and we enjoyed this. I did not add cilantro (didn't have any), and I added considerably more of all spices called for. The texture and consistency of the meat mixture was fine. I let it cool a bit before adding to the pie crusts. It's good reheated also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States