Turkey Empanadas Grande Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Well, I just don't know what to say. I looked at the reviews and I looked at the ingredients. I knew it would be blah and went against my best judgement and followed the reviews. It was awful. NO Flavor. I eat regular empanadas a lot and this recipe should be called something else. Besides it made so much, I just threw the rest of the filling out. Thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
great little"hot pocket" type meal.....we use goya discos (made for empanadas) in the freezer section....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Excellent! Next time I'm going to squeeze some lime juice on it for some added punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I made this for a dinner party and it was the only item served that had no leftovers. The only improvement is if you use fresh tomatoes add some salt and extra pepper for flavor. I also kicked it up with extra hot pepper flakes and cumin. This is definately going to be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I thought the filling was wonderful, but I think it would be better served with enchilada sauce or a cheese sauce, as the end product of this recipe was rather dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This was soooo good and easy. I only had 2 frozen pie crusts, and used them to make a pot pie. It was such a great combination of flavors, and it was even better the next day! Thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This was VERY good! I used one small can of tomato sauce and one can of mexican seasoned stewed tomatoes (chopped them up in my food processor). Had to adjust cook time on the stove to cook out liquids. But it was great. HOWEVER, when attempting to put the meat on the pie shell half, you MIGHT want to mention that you need to COOL the meat first. I didn't even think about it and ended up with holes in my shell when I folded it over. .. OOPS! hee hee - but this will go in my permanent recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This recipe is absolutely wonderful. I didn't have tomatoes so I used bottled sauce and it worked incredibly well! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This was great! Reminded us of the empanadas we've had in Argentina. I made my own pastry crust since I didn't have one frozen. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
We added some salsa, avocada and refried beans on the side. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States