Turkey Empanadas Grande Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These were sooooo good!!!! I took many other reviewers advice and used salsa in lieu of the tomatoes, plus more seasonings. My kids went wild over this great recipe and so did I. I plan on making this again as an appetizer for a party we have coming up with sides of sour cream, salsa and guacamole! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
After reading the other reviews, I agreed the mixture looked too dry...I made the following changes and it turned out so great that my husband and I ate almost all of it and had to stop ourselves from polishing it off. Instead of tomatoes (which I don't like), I added a bottle of Chipotle-flavoured Pace salsa - it added just the right amount of moisture, flavour, and a yummy spicy-ness. I also ditched the dried parsley (I've read if you use parsley dried you might as well not use it at all), and I substituted freshly pressed garlic for the garlic powder and fresh cilantro for dry. Easy changes on an already easy-to-prepare dish, and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I have to agree it wasn't they weren't too tasty until I added a quick fixer-upper. I tried the filling before I put it into the dough, and decided it was bland. I just added some salsa out of jar and it fixed it right up. I really enjoyed them after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
My family really enjoyed this. Made my own crust and did add chicken broth to the turkey mixture. Also used a container of the ready pac pico de gallo. No leftover so will make two next time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I followed the recipe pretty closely, and we enjoyed this. I did not add cilantro (didn't have any), and I added considerably more of all spices called for. The texture and consistency of the meat mixture was fine. I let it cool a bit before adding to the pie crusts. It's good reheated also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This recipe was great. I followed some of the other suggestions about adding extra spices and chiken broth...my kids loved it!! I also made it into more of a pot pie using a top and bottom crust. This recipe went into my box as a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
At first, we made this recipe as stated with the exception that we left out cilantro (we don't like cilantro). The meat turned out dry and tasteless, and we were very disappointed. However, we made some simple changes that miraculously turned it into a 5! All we did was add 1 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 to 2/3 cup chicken broth to the cooking meat mixture, and that gave it the flavor, texture, and moisture that the mixture needed for the ingredients to truly shine. I would also suggest using deep dish pie crusts because there was a lot of meat. However, it all turned out great, and we will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Great recipe! I followed others' advice and added a bit more cumin, some chili powder and chopped fresh cilantro. My husband and I really loved these--and I used the leftover filling to jazz up our side dish, the Taco Salad with Ranch Dressing (also on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This was really, really good. My daughter has a dairy allergy and it is really hard to find recipies that don't have milk or cheese and still taste good. This one is a winner! I had read other reviews that said it was a bit bland, so I added some chili powder, paprika, and cajun seasoning. I think it would have been pretty spicy even without the extras though. My only complaint is that it is pretty labor and time intensive - it is not something you can whip together in 20 minutes. Still in all I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
So tasty! I didn't have any parsley or cilantro, but the remaining ingredients were perfect. The red pepper flakes gave a bit of a kick to it, and even my picky 1-year old ate it up. It tasted just like the empanadas my Argentine husband makes. I also didn't have any tapas (pastry actually used for empanadas)but it tasted great with some homemade tortilla shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States