Turkey Empanadas Grande Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was quick and delicious! I squeezed half of a lime into the ground turkey mixture as it was cooking and some shredded cheese inside the pie crust before baking. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
What a mess!! I had the WORST time with the pie crusts. When I put all of the filling in and tried to fold it the fold side completely broke open. I was even careful to not put it in hot. When I tried to fix it I realized that the entire bottom had reduced to a pile of mush. I ended up putting what was left of the filling in a pie dish and covering with the remaining crust. It tasted OK but not worth me ever attempting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Easier than I thought, and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I used some of the other suggestions such as chicke broth, salt, and salsa a in place of the tomatoes. I also used cut-up turkey cutlets instead of ground turkey and 1/2tsp cumin and cilantro insted of 1 full tsp. I spkinkled some parmesan, mozzarella, and cheddar cheese on the top of mixture before ceiling. This receipe was pretty good. My co-workers enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Healthy and delicious. What more do you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I made these as directed, except omitted the cilantro since I didn't have any on hand. The empanadas were delicious! I couldn't even tell it was turkey. There was more filling than would fit in the pie crusts so I used the leftover in quesadillas (I added cheese) the next night. YUMMY!! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
The flavor was good, but the pie crusts made it too sweet. I also had a hard time working with the pie crusts (couldn't get them to not fall apart!). Probably won't bother making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTIF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
THESE ARE REALLY GOOD. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE AND THEY TURNED OUT GREAT. SERVE WITH SOUR CREAM AND GUACAMOLE AND BEANS. FAMILY FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I was glad that I looked at the other cooks' tips, and I also used salsa instead of tomatoes. Made the meat mixture very tasty and little extra spicy since I used medium salsa. For some reason I ended up with too much meat mixture and wasn't able to use it all in the pie crusts. However, I saved it and used it in regular tortillas for lunch the bext day. Very tasty-- I had been looking for an empanadas recipe that didn't have pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Really good. Make sure to add some chicken broth, and a can of stewed/diced tomatoes because it can be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States