Turkey Empanadas Grande Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
this was a great hit with the family. It is a great way to use up left-over turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BioDave1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Great recipe! I substituted ground turkey with ground chicken. I read the suggestions and waited for the meat mixture to cool down before I put it in the pie crust. I also added cheese and one diced jalapeno. Delicious and easy. No mess here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This recipe tastes great if you can get it to the table in one piece. The filling is hot which practically melts the pie crust. Maybe a biscuit mix would be better. Anyway, after getting frustrated with the annihilated crust, it baked just great and was very tasty. Makes 2 crust's worth, but hubby and I split one and saved one for the next night. I don't think I could spread it out for 8 svgs and be satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIGOLD1199

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was very good! I made individual sized and served with spicy dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I liked it pretty well, but nothing too grand. The rest of the family didnt really like it. Bigger chunks of veggies might be better, maybe more like burrito fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
sooo tasty! I thought the meat mixture was going to be too dry but it ended up being a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGERLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
These are amazing. My husband and I absolutely loved these. They taste like ones you can get in a restaurant. I did take the advice of others and increase the spices and I also added shredded cheese inside. but it was great. I told my sister she had to make it and her and her husband begged her to make them at least once a week. I will try with ground beef next time b/c my husband prefers it, but the turkey was tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Spicy and delicious! I will definitely be making this again -- got thumbs up from husband and son. I used my own crust and added some red bell pepper with the green, but other than that I followed the recipe. The only thing that might make it better would be fresh garden tomatoes, but I'll have to wait until next summer for that. For now, I used canned tomatoes (with jalapenos) and it turned out great. I used my pizza pan, and the 2 giant halves fit just right on it. I did make the filling ahead of time and cooled it as well as chilled the pie dough, and I think that made for easy assembly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Delicious! I substituted in salsa for the tomatoes, as suggested, and used a homemade crust instead of a premade crust. I was a little concerned that the pepper flakes would make the dish too spicy for my young kids and husband, but added them anyway. It was not too spicy for them! I think that the mixture tasted even better the next day. I used the excess meat-mix to make some quesadillas as a previous reviewer did; they were quite good. I will definately be making this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I love empanadas, and as someone always looking for healthier versions of my favorites, I was excited to find this one. They were great, and my family enjoyed them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADY_ALETHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States