Turkey Empanadas Grande Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Growing up in Panama, i ate a lot of tomato based meat empanadas. I learned how to make them after moving to states. Was looking for a twist on one of my favorite foods ever. These were amazing! Definitely let meat cool before rolling in pie crust. So glad i came across this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
very versatile and my pre-diabetic husband loved this recipe. To change up this recipe I substituted whole wheat tortillas instead of pie crust. Secondly, you can use chicken, rice and black beans. Lastly, I used all kinds of peppers from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Moran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Awesome! Very tasty and easy to make. I substituted the pie crust with indiviual round empanada crusts by Goya. Found them in the freezer section. Can also be found at your local Spanish store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
A little more involved than I care for dinner, especially since it's best if you cook the filling the night before as not to have problems with the pie crust. But the flavor was good and my husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Tasty. I used a pillsbury deep dish pie crust. The meat definitely needs salt or any kind of salt based seasoning. I did notice as I was cooking that the recipe was missing something and my tastebuds confirmed it. Will make again and probably use adobe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Zero

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
very good. easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brossettelewis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
wonderful! i will be making these again. i brushed the outsides of the crust with egg white as well to get that crispyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
These were great. I used ground beef instead and salsa like other reviewers suggested. I made them with puff pastry sheets cut into circles, filled and folded over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Tends to come out a little dry, I added some enchilada sauce after the meat/veggie mixture cooled and it was delicious! Also, if you run the meat and vegetables through a meat grinder before you stuff the shells, the texture is much more consistent and (I think) better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
We did not think they had a lot of flavor. Eldest son liked but he also added a lot of melted cheese over them. Would not make again but thanks for letting us try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States