Turkey Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christie
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Good recipe!! I did add celery potatoes and carrots!! Yummy!! I like the biscuit idea for the dumplings.... I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I always ad-lib recipes, so I used 6 cups of water and all of our left over turkey from Thanksgiving (including the skin and stock). Added some salt and pepper, onion and garlic and boiled, then turned down to med-low for 30 mins. Then I added 2 small cans of Jr biscuits (7.5 oz each) rolled in 3 Tbsp of flour and cut up into halves, cooked on Medium heat for another 15 minutes and even though I have the flu, it still smelled wonderful and tasted pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNBPLUS2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner, however I made a few changes. First off, I used half water and half chicken broth. Then I added 3-4 celery stalk leaves. I also used about 1/4c of retained turkey drippings (I am so glad that I saved them). I used a more than generous amount of salt and pepper. I did not use the biscuit dough, but I found a supper easy recipe for dumplings on this cite that was very good, quick and simple- they were ready to be added about 5-10 before the mixture was ready for them. All in all this turned out to be a fantastic dinner. I will definitely remember this recipe for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Great recipe added but I added a few things. One when I used Turkey Chops to and cooked it in the oven till white with salt, pepper, and basil. Second thing for the dumplings I used the Bisquick dumplings recipe. The last thing I changed was I didn't add water instead, like members on this site have stated before I added Turkey gravy which made really gave it more flavor and wrapped it all up nicely. For a side I made Sweet Baby Carrots. This was an affordable meal and the best part it was quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Needed more flavor. Would not use canned biscuits again. Super easy and I had all the ingredients, but will not make this variation again. I will make my own drop dumplings from bisquick and maybe add garlic, onion, carrots, and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made the basic recipe, without the dumplings (don't need the carbs). Used 4 cups of water and added 1/2 a red pepper (diced), garlic salt (instead of salt), 1 celery stick (diced), and 1 carrot (diced). Turned out great. Spiced my bowl it with Chalola. Without the modifications, I think it would have been pretty plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This recipe is terrific, but as mentioned, requires modification. I added a teaspoon-and-a-half of chicken bouillon, celery, and garlic pepper to taste, using the saltiness of the bouillon to make up for seasoning. The dough came out just a little underdone at the low heat of my stove (yes, even for dumplings), but a quick zap in the microwave perked it right up. Cheating, but it worked in a pinch. Thanks for the good eats! And for those reading this review, happy modding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This needs alot of help. I started with left over turkey. I used a can of cream of mushroom and a can of cream of celery. I added potatoes, carrots, chopped onion and herbs. Salt, pepper and a few herbs. I cooked it alll in pot on meduim until the veggies were done and then dropped in cut up squares of refrigerated biscuit dough. Cooked those for 4 minutes and it was all done. Quick and Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very easy and good! My entire family (five children) enjoyed this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was very good and very easy. I did add garlic powder, onion powder and green peas. I found that the key to the dumplings was not stir them and let them simmer for about 30 minutes to cook all the way through. I will make this again. Great way to use leftover turkey from the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakeslove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States