Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Love this recipe - turned out great. I did omit the tomatoes and worcestershire sauce. Once I had the stock made, I put all ingredients in the crock-pot on low for 4 hours - adding rice (instead of barley) during the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I have made many soups from a carcass, this was by far the most tasty. I even took it to a small neighborhood gathering and everyone raved about it. I do usually use a boxed stock already to simmer it in (vegetable or chicken) - just because I like lots of flavor. I did leave out the cabbage - nothing seemed like it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I always toss the whole carcass in the Oven with whatever clings to it and brown it well.itp should Fall off the bone.remove bones and puree it and proceed to simmer it for a few hours and then proceed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very simple and great flavor. This is a perfect soup for a cold evening and what a way to use every last bit of turkey leftovers. You'd think I lived through the depression with my frugality on this one! I've made this twice already this fall and it has been a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Followed directions exactly except my husband wanted me to add egg noodles in place of barley. I put in too many noodles, and they used up too much broth. So, my soup was a very flavorful pot of noodles! But recommend this recipe and will make it again. I really liked the selection and amounts of each spice. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I doubled the recipe, browned 4 cloves garlic first and used 4 quarts chicken broth and 3 quarts water. Didn't have cabbage or tomatoes but used frozen spinach and broccoli instead. Loved it! Thickened broth slightly with a three heaping tablespoons of gravy and 1cup water mixed with tablespoon of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I always make recipes EXACTLY before rating them, but in this case I didn't have the carcus just the Turkey meat. So the only difference that I made is that I used half water and half chicken stock and added my cut up turkey and followed the rest of the recipe to a T and it was amazing! The family RAVED about it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Served it over Tubetti. I didn't have tomatoes, but it's great the same. Put shredded cheese on top and served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a great base recipe/instructions for using the carcass. I made a few changes to fit my families tastes: swapped the potatoes and cabbage with more carrots, celery, and also added about 2 cups of cut fresh green beans. I also used 3/4 cup of white rice instead of barley as filler/thickener. I kept the seasoning and spices the same, except for omitting the salt since I'd brined the turkey (already soaked in salted solution for 24hrs). If I hadn't brined the bird, I would have used the salt too. Thanks AllRecipes and submitter BirdNSav! Another recipe to put in my recipebox and save for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Good starter recipe. I simmer bones on low for much longer and cut off good meat to add later, at the last minute, to preserve flavor. I generally use brown rice (instead of barley) and sometimes add curry and a little hot sauce. Never use potatoes in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States