Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We had a turkey breast and made half of the soup recipe with it and it turned out excellent. I didn't get a lot of turkey flavor from just one hour of simmering, so I added one Knorr concentrated chicken soup stock, and that did the trick to bring up the flavor. Next time I would simmer the carcass longer. But, the husband loved it. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Best turkey soup I have ever made or had. The flavors and spices were perfect. Omitted the cabbage because I didn't have any. Added lots of mushrooms instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I don't usually like turkey soup but this proved to be a pleaser, even for me! I followed some of the reviewers' notes and also made a few modifications of my own: Made the basic stock in the crockpot and added a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar to the pot as a few reviewers noted. After adding the carcass and water, I added a handful of celery (the smaller inner stems with leaves which I also removed later), and about a half teaspoon of dehydrated shallots (next time I will try minced garlic), and bay leaf. Cooked the stock on High all afternoon (about 6 hours). Then strained the stock into a soup pot on the stove and added all but the potatoes and barley ( I substituted cooked brown rice to make it gluten free). I also added the chopped celery and used chopped fresh parsley instead of dried, and a can of stewed tomatoes (original recipe) and cut them into smaller pieces with the edge of the spoon. I had one large leftover turkey breast to add and that made this more like a stew since I didn't add as much water as called for in the recipe. This is a great basic recipe and lends itself well to modify according to your taste and also to what you may or may not have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It is a good Base recipe but I did find it bland, I had to add additional spices to give it more flavor and a can of chicken broth. I actually boiled bones for longer then it calls for and still it did not have a lot of flavor so added the chicken broth more pepper and Garlic Salt. I did not use potato's but added Rice to make it a turkey and rice soup. I will def use it as a base but just needed more spice for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Followed the directions except for potatoes and cabbage. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATMC102

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Hearty! Good flavor.One hour for each step is general -- it may be more. Use double amount of barley! Makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This is by far the best turkey soup recipe I have made. My hubby agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Used 3qts of water and added 3 cloves of garlic. Crock pot for 8 hrs. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
We happened to have a smoked turkey this year, so I used the carcass in this recipe. As such, didn't have any issues like the folks who said this recipe was bland. We also used leeks we had on hand instead of onions. Cooked all afternoon and was quite hearty by dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States