Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Love barley. Made this without cabbage so the kids would eat it... they didnt. I liked it though, and the wife had three bowels yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Flanigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I just made this soup and it turned out GREAT. I only used 3 quarts of water, although if you use 4 quarts, it will simply give you more broth. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
OK-GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rcjetskier
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was my first time making turkey carcass soup and it was a hit!! I pretty much followed the directions as given, except I let the carcass simmer for an additional hour. Also added a bit more barley and veggies. I think next time I will add some canned corn or maybe instead of the barley add noodles. Really is a great way to use all of the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcjetskier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LKHARVEY
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is the second year that I have made this soup. I did add some to the recipe to add extra spice to it. Instead of the whole can tomatoes, I used diced tomatoes with jalapeños. I also added garlic seasoning, white pepper, cayenne pepper, corn & extra barley. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is a great way to use up the leftover turkey and is really tasty. The only changes I made were reducing the Worcestershire to one teaspoon and I used rice instead of barley. I had family over for dinner and it almost all was eaten at one go. Everyone loved it. My refrigerator has lots of space again now that the turkey is out of there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorahbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Wow, what a great soup! My carcass had so much turkey on it, plus I had a lot leftover from dinner. Followed recipe but added bok choy for cabbage and small pasta for barley. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
this soup is amazing1 I have made it twice, once with the worcestershire sauce, once without. It was much better without. The worcestershire sauce seemed to take over the soup in a negative otherwise it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I make this every year after thanksgiving. I skip the worcestershire sauce tho. never used it. I also add a heaping spoon of chicken base. You can add almost any combination of veggies, I use a large bag of frozen mixed vegetables in addition to the celery, carrots and onion. Havent tried tomatoes or cabbage, but I'm sure it would be good also. I also add a 1-lb bag of wide egg noodles 10 minutes before the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This recipe is great as a starter in my opinion. I always follow recipes and then tweak as I need to. I felt like I needed to tweak this quite a bit in order to get the flavors I want. Now that I've added a little more spices than the recipe called for it will be superb though. Next time I might enhance with some chicken soup cubes or simmer the carcass overnight as some others suggested. Still gave it five stars as it does get there with a little extra effort added in. The noses in this house are getting excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States