Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Wow, what a great soup! My carcass had so much turkey on it, plus I had a lot leftover from dinner. Followed recipe but added bok choy for cabbage and small pasta for barley. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
this soup is amazing1 I have made it twice, once with the worcestershire sauce, once without. It was much better without. The worcestershire sauce seemed to take over the soup in a negative otherwise it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I make this every year after thanksgiving. I skip the worcestershire sauce tho. never used it. I also add a heaping spoon of chicken base. You can add almost any combination of veggies, I use a large bag of frozen mixed vegetables in addition to the celery, carrots and onion. Havent tried tomatoes or cabbage, but I'm sure it would be good also. I also add a 1-lb bag of wide egg noodles 10 minutes before the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This recipe is great as a starter in my opinion. I always follow recipes and then tweak as I need to. I felt like I needed to tweak this quite a bit in order to get the flavors I want. Now that I've added a little more spices than the recipe called for it will be superb though. Next time I might enhance with some chicken soup cubes or simmer the carcass overnight as some others suggested. Still gave it five stars as it does get there with a little extra effort added in. The noses in this house are getting excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Very good and filling. We used 2 quarts of water and 2 quarts of chicken stock to boost the deep flavor factor. Guests raved about this. I also added 1 TBSP. minced garlic. The only thing I would change would be the name. 'Carcass' has a rather off-putting mental image and we changed the name on our Fall menu to Turkey Soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I simmered the carcass for about 5 hours, with half and onion, bay leaves and a teaspoon of black peppercorns to make the broth. I used diced tomatoes, and I think it made the tomato flavor a bit too strong. The recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
made this several times now with both chicken and turkey carasses.i never put in the cabbage . added some long grain rice instead and more veggies.GOOD SOUP .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I thought it was a good soup. I thought an hour to simmer wasnt enough ao I simmered the carcass all day and left it on the stove overnight on low. In the morning I strained out all bones . I also added a teaspoon of cider vinegar. I read somewhere that this helped draw the calcium out of the bones. . The broth flavor wasnt strong but better then oxo or bullion or the regual box broths out there. Its nice using everything plus you can toss in anything else you have kicking around in the fridge. I cooked the soup all day as well in the crockpot. Still have the other half in the freezer for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Wonderful flavor! I didn't have cabbage, so left it out, and used a 28-oz can of petite diced tomatoes, which was perfect. Will make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Usually give my mother-in-law the carcas. This year I wanted to try soup and so glad I did. This recipe had alot of flavor and was pretty easy. Plus after all the hard work on the Thanksgiving meal, it was a bonus to make another dish for later on. Tried one bowl and froze the rest to enjoy later. It was even better in January!. A new tradition from here on. (I don't like dealing with meat on the bone but I surprisingly managed this very easily)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States