Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Made this (almost) exactly as described. I added 1/2 cup more barley and left out the tomatoes. I also used a free range turkey. The flavour of the soup is amazing! I had to add chicken broth though to thin it down, probably due to adding more barley. This was a great way to really get all the good meat still left on the bones, and was super easy. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is awesome...I tweaked it some, used rice instead of barley, added tomato paste, and put in cantenelli bean instead of potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I think garlic should have been an ingredient. The soup was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Needs more salt, and some garlic wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Love barley. Made this without cabbage so the kids would eat it... they didnt. I liked it though, and the wife had three bowels yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Flanigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I just made this soup and it turned out GREAT. I only used 3 quarts of water, although if you use 4 quarts, it will simply give you more broth. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
OK-GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rcjetskier
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was my first time making turkey carcass soup and it was a hit!! I pretty much followed the directions as given, except I let the carcass simmer for an additional hour. Also added a bit more barley and veggies. I think next time I will add some canned corn or maybe instead of the barley add noodles. Really is a great way to use all of the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcjetskier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LKHARVEY
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is the second year that I have made this soup. I did add some to the recipe to add extra spice to it. Instead of the whole can tomatoes, I used diced tomatoes with jalapeños. I also added garlic seasoning, white pepper, cayenne pepper, corn & extra barley. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is a great way to use up the leftover turkey and is really tasty. The only changes I made were reducing the Worcestershire to one teaspoon and I used rice instead of barley. I had family over for dinner and it almost all was eaten at one go. Everyone loved it. My refrigerator has lots of space again now that the turkey is out of there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorahbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States