Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Indiebasics
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Great recipe. I about 1tbs of cinnamon, salt, pepper and garlic powder during the initial boiling of the carcass and it added tremendous flavour to the end result. I also left out the tomatoes, only 4 potatoes, and added an extra tbs of Worcester sauce. Great flavour and great overall recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BIG BOY
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I kind of had fun with this..... It is an exceptional recipe and stands alone very well as written. Using it as a guide only I tinkered with it adding an apple, a couple of pears more carrots and celery while playing with the spices. I added cayenne pepper to taste a teaspoon of Italian seasoning. Oh! I also added 4 pieces of smashed fresh garlic. As I said I love the receipt but also suggest using it as a guide and have fun with it. By the way the final product came out astoundingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I tried this soup recipe and it was very good. I literally used every bit of the turkey carcass, giblets and leftover turkey meat(lots of turkey meat). I did not add the barley as I didn't have it on hand but substituted gluten free egg noodles. I added more potatoes, carrots and celery and left out the cabbage. I nearly doubled the spices, added a couple of bullion cubes and a few dashes of tobasco sauce as I like lots of flavor. I also thickened the soup with a little flour and water mixed in a cup and added it to finished soup. Took it into work and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
WOW!! This has to be the one of the best soups I've ever made. Here's what I did: Using 4 quarts of chicken broth, 1 whole head of garlic gently crushed, 3 cut up carrots, 3 stalks of cut up celery and one onion diced. I simmered the carcass for almost 7 hours and then strained the broth twice and tossed out the solids. Instead of shredding a whole cabbage I used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw. I didn't use potatoes but with 10 mins left to simmer I put in a bag of medium egg noodles. I had at least a full 1 1/2 lbs of turkey meat trimmed from the carcass that was also diced up and put in the pot. Everything else was exactly as written in the recipe. This was an incredible soup that we'll be eating for the better part of this week since it made so much. Highly recommend using this recipe when needing to use up the holiday turkey. So GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Wow! My first try and the outcome amazing. Added the giblets and let the bones simmer until the meat fell off the neck - several hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I make this recipe every year after Christmas, with some modifications. I do not include potatoes, tomatoes, cabbage or barley. I use all the celery I have left over from making the stuffing, and 2-3 carrots. I cook the whole recipe in my pressure cooker (or my largest slow cooker). When the soup is done I strain it. My husband eats the boiled veggies - the dog gets whatever he doesn't finish. If the broth is not enough, I add chicken broth. I use the broth to make Greek avgolemono soup, by cooking rice until done, then beating together 2-3 eggs, adding 2-3 lemons and beating until light yellow and slightly thickened. I add hot but not boiling broth a little at a time and beat until the broth has tempered the egg mixture. I then add it back to the soup, stir well, and voila - beautiful soup. Note: you cannot cover the soup immediately after adding the egg mixture as it will curdle (ask me how I know!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dancantcook
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this turkey soup the day after Christmas. Oh how great the house smelled! I left out the barley and added s couple tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Tsutsui
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I didn't have a potato or barley but the recipe was delicious and I seasoned it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Tsutsui

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Easy meal. I needed a recipe that allowed for boiling the carcass without all the veggies, since mine had already been simmering when I went looking for a recipe. I added extra water, cabbage, and barley. It accidentally simmered for over two hours, but ended up sort of creamy and quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Great recipe, will use it every year for after Thanksgiving soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States