Turkey Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I'm giving 4 stars due to the amount of changes made. I sauted 3 cloves of garlic with the onion, turkey. Then I substituted 4 ounces of the tomato sauce with hot salsa to the meat mixture. Gave it some great flavour. No one had mentioned how to easily get the cabbage leaves off. I recomend cutting off the end of the cabbage head and blanching it in boiling water. The leaves will soften and can be peeled off and rolled much easier. This is also an important step if you want nice tender cabbage in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipe yielded about 24 cabbage rolls. I found it helpful to soak the cabbage head in hot water for a few minutes to soften the leaves before trying to remove them, otherwise they ripped apart too easily. My only complaint is that I ended up with a very watery sauce after I removed the rolls from the oven--I think water comes out of the cabbage leaves during cooking. Next time I would omit water from the sauce and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Great flavor, my husband and I loved this dish. I had a cabbage head cut up in my refridgerator so I put a layer of pieces on the bottom and a layer over the top of the meat mixture. I used ground beef instead of the turkey but otherwise followed all other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I LOVED this recipe,the cabbage, the filling, the sauce - everything!!! I will make this again! My mother-in-law came over and I gave her a taste. She said she would eat half a roll, but ate the whole thing instead, and now she wants the recipe!! Complete success!! I thought this recipe was a wonderful way to use leftover rice that I had already cooked. I used 2 cups of cooked brown rice in the filling, along with the other ingredients as listed, adding some garlic and parsley as well. In the sauce, I took the advice of another reviewer and used all tomato sauce (because I didn't have tomato paste), instead of tomato paste and water mixed with tomato sauce. I was out of lemon juice, so I substituted raw apple cider vinegar for that and added a bit more brown sugar to help the flavor. My whole family liked the filling and the sauce, but only part of them were excited about the cabbage "wrap". So, if you like cabbage, you will LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
YUMMERS! This was just what I was looking for...great flavor. I did however prepare my rolls the night before, refrigerated them over night and cooked them in my crock pot on low for 7 hours while I was at work the next day. I only added enough tomato sauce/water combo to cover the rolls. I didn't mind the thin sauce once tasting how great the roll was with it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I just made these rolls last night for dinner and they were DELICIOUS!!! I have been making cabbage rolls for a long time and these knocked my old recipe out of the park! Plus they were a lot healthier with the ground turkey and my family never knew the difference, which was quite obvious since we have no leftovers! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Great recipe. Husband is really picky and he loved it! I didn't have any tomato paste for the sauce that is poured over the rolls, so I just substituted a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce (no water!) instead. Came out absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I followed the recipe except I used two 15 ounce cans of tomato sauce instead of the tomato paste and water and I added a little Italian seasoning to the filling and sprinkled some Mrs. Dash tomato, basil, and garlic on the top of the sauce before baking, and some parmesan cheese after they were done, and these were the best cabbage rolls I've ever had! Much lighter and better tasting than using ground beef. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Very tasty and healthy...My bf went back for seconds, then thirds, then fourths! Took a little long to prepare for a weekday meal though, next time I think I'll double the recipe and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This was truly delicious. I did make my own changes, however. I used ground chicken instead of turkey and threw in a couple cloves of minced garlic with the onion. I also added 1/4 tsp. poultry seasoning to the chicken/onion/garlic mixture. When the meat mixture was cooling I added 1 cup shredded mozzarella to it. As far as the liquids, I used 3 8oz. cans tomato sauce (instead of 1, paste and water). This made alot of yummy sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint James, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States