Turkey Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
YUMMERS! This was just what I was looking for...great flavor. I did however prepare my rolls the night before, refrigerated them over night and cooked them in my crock pot on low for 7 hours while I was at work the next day. I only added enough tomato sauce/water combo to cover the rolls. I didn't mind the thin sauce once tasting how great the roll was with it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This meal was very good. I seasoned the turkey with garlic powder, pepper, and seasoned salt. For the sauce, I used only 1/2 cup water with the tomato paste and it seemed to make it a nice, chunky sauce. I also used brown rice as well. It tastes good and is healthy! Next time I make this I will probably add some white wine to the turkey and a little tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because it was a good starting point for using the lower fat ingredients. I added chopped garlic, bell pepper, jalapeno, and more seasonings to the filling after reading other reviews. You really have to rev up the spices and flavors with the ground poultry. I also added more seasoning to the sauce, mainly garlic & onion powders, some cajun spice and, YES, a pinch of ground cloves, as this is how I make my regular cabbage rolls. I agree with more lemon juice so you get that sweet & sour sauce for the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I made a few changes. While browning the turkey, in addition to the onion, I added 3 cloves of garlic and a dash of cayenne pepper. I also used brown rice instead of long grain and added 1/3 cup pepper jack cheese to mix! I actually measured 2 tablespoons of mixture to each cabbage leaf and ended up with alot of extra filler that I just added to the sauce on top. Next time I will just add more mixture to each cabbage leaf! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Not a bad recipe just not a meal my family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
With some modifications, we loved this dish! Other reviewers' tips were very helpful and led me to make these changes: I boiled the whole head of cabbage for 5-10 minutes to make leaf removal/rolling easier. For more veggies, I added 1 cup diced green pepper to the onion/garlic/turkey saute. To punch up flavor, I added 2 tsp of minced garlic, 2 tsp of sugar, and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper to the filling mix. For a less watery sauce, I used whole (6 oz.) can of tomato paste with 1/2 cup water (plus tomato sauce called for). Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERRADANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
My parents loved these, but I thought that they were missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
The only changes I made was to use more like 2/3 cup uncooked rice and 1-1/3 cups water; I also added extra salt and pepper to the meat, and used 3 cups of tomato sauce instead of sauce, paste, and water. It was edible, even alright, but not great. It needed (according to my husband) a LOT more lemon juice. And he was right, we put extra lemon on while eating and it helped. There was something off-putting about the turkey-cabbage-tomato combo. Turkey does taste different from ground beef (or lamb, I would assume), and I'm used to ground beef cabbage rolls. I might try this recipe again with beef but not with turkey. I'm glad I tried it, anyhow! Thanks for sharing, Dhano923!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Amazing! I did some adding and changing according to what I had in my kitchen and other reviewers ideas - I used a pink tomato vodka sauce, added toasted garlic, and used leftover chicken off the grill instead of the turkey. I also added a little grated sharp white cheddar cheese in the last few minutes of baking. We will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States