Turkey Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Very tasty! This dish was straightforward to make based off the directions given. The cabbage leaves held up well and the sauce was tasty. I added some mushrooms too. Five stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I made the cabbage rolls for dinner last night and they were Delicious. I did take the advice of other reviewers and added 2 cloves of garlic to the ground turkey and onions. I also cut the recipe down to four servings since it's just my husband and me. Didn't want to have too much temptation to over eat since we are trying to cut back on our portions. I used one 8 ounce can of tomato sauce for the filling and another 8 ounce can for pouring over the cabbage rolls. (I omitted the tomato paste and the water) The sauce was a tiny bit runny but it was easy to pour over the cooked rolls and had great flavor due to the brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce. I also used brown rice and an egg substitute. Definitely a keeper with a few tweaks to meet our dietary restrictions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
These were a hit. I added a little garlic powder to the meat mixture and added 1/4 cup of water instead of the full amount to the sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My family thought this was very good and sucked it down. I thought the sauce was a little too sweet. If I make this recipe again I will only use half the brown sugar it calls for. Also if you make this be prepared for a sink full of dirty dishes! I used SO many dishes to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was amazing! I cooked mine in the crockpot since I prefer recipes like this in crockpots but still amazing! =) even the picky eaters in my house enjoyed it! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Made these for dinner tonight for my boyfriend and I and they were awesome! I've been doing a low calorie diet and these were a perfect mix up from the chicken and veggies I have been doing every night. I did make a few changes after reading reviews. I put 2 tablespoons of minced garlic in with the turkey mix. And used to cans of tomato sauce instead of the paste. I also used brown rice instead of the white. I did however didn't really like how my cabbage wasn't very soft. Next time I think I might need to boil it longer. Overall, very good and will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Used wild rice, not white. Didn't have full cabbage leaves (had already used half the head in another recipe), so overlapped half leaves, and it worked ok, though I had to spit the rolls with toothpicks. Omitted water and tomato sauce. Used comparable amount of salsa instead, as suggested by previous member. Used 1 tbsp of agave, not brown sugar. Added grated carrots, fresh minced parsley, and abt a half pkg of well drained/dried/chopped frozen spinach for additional nutrition & color. Since I was using Himalayan pink salt, which comes in large crystals, I cut the amt of salt in half. Added about a tsp of lemon zest, too. Didn't simmer cabbage leaves before making rolls; I like a little texture to the dish. Have large skillet with lid, that can withstand 350 degree heat. Used it to brown turkey, etc, used it to mix sauce, then used it to cook the rolls in the oven. Cut down on the clean up significantly. Result = awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I made this tonight. I haven't made these since my Mom showed me how to do them when I was a kid. I told my family it was an experiment night and it was welcomed very well by them! :) I had 3lbs. of ground turkey on hand, so I used what was left over from the above mixture to prep for a casserole in a few days. I may use Panko or Italian breadcrumbs and cheese. It will pair great with a nice salad. It's in the freezer and ready to go for the next meal! :) Thanks for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
well people i tryed this recipe an added to it, I am a southern cook,I also added ramps that isalso great an smoked gouda cheese, an cajun seasoning. it was great the best cabbage rolls i ever eat paula dean would love this lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
WOW....Tried it today and I must say I was most impressed as were my 2 teenagers. I just added some finely chopped red peppers and garlic to the onions. MMMMM...Into my recipe box you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Leftover Turkey Spring Rolls

See how to create a delicious twist on Thanksgiving leftovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States