Turkey Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Delicious! As one reviewer recommended, I sautéed 3 garlic cloves as well with onion & turkey, substituted 4 oz tomato sauce w/salsa to the meat mix, and cut off the end of the cabbage head to soften and peel off easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I'm giving 4 stars due to the amount of changes made. I sauted 3 cloves of garlic with the onion, turkey. Then I substituted 4 ounces of the tomato sauce with hot salsa to the meat mixture. Gave it some great flavour. No one had mentioned how to easily get the cabbage leaves off. I recomend cutting off the end of the cabbage head and blanching it in boiling water. The leaves will soften and can be peeled off and rolled much easier. This is also an important step if you want nice tender cabbage in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipe yielded about 24 cabbage rolls. I found it helpful to soak the cabbage head in hot water for a few minutes to soften the leaves before trying to remove them, otherwise they ripped apart too easily. My only complaint is that I ended up with a very watery sauce after I removed the rolls from the oven--I think water comes out of the cabbage leaves during cooking. Next time I would omit water from the sauce and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I LOVED this recipe,the cabbage, the filling, the sauce - everything!!! I will make this again! My mother-in-law came over and I gave her a taste. She said she would eat half a roll, but ate the whole thing instead, and now she wants the recipe!! Complete success!! I thought this recipe was a wonderful way to use leftover rice that I had already cooked. I used 2 cups of cooked brown rice in the filling, along with the other ingredients as listed, adding some garlic and parsley as well. In the sauce, I took the advice of another reviewer and used all tomato sauce (because I didn't have tomato paste), instead of tomato paste and water mixed with tomato sauce. I was out of lemon juice, so I substituted raw apple cider vinegar for that and added a bit more brown sugar to help the flavor. My whole family liked the filling and the sauce, but only part of them were excited about the cabbage "wrap". So, if you like cabbage, you will LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. The kids loved it as well, and they didn't realize they were eating cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Great texture! I did not have a problem with it not being saucey enough, but I ate it with a spinach salad instead of mashed potatos so I did not need to have "gravy" for that. The only reason this did not get 5 stars is because it is very bland if prepared exactly as the recipe states. You will definately need to spice your turkey meat to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Now I remember why I haven't made this in 7 yrs -unless you're using Savoy cabbage leaves, you will be SOOOO frustrated (do you peel the leaves of cabbage off first, ripping them to pieces? or do you steam the whole head of cabbage, which actually takes an hour?!) -2 tbl filling/leaf will leave you with lots of leftover filling, try 3 tbl and you'll still need more than 16 leaves -the sauce is too sweet. Next time I'm going to see what it tastes like before adding the brown sugar. Now that I've typed this all out to share with you, I should remember for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My first experience with cabbage rolls. This recipe was foolproof and my "honey" had seconds and ate leftovers...that says it all. This will be a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This was truly delicious. I did make my own changes, however. I used ground chicken instead of turkey and threw in a couple cloves of minced garlic with the onion. I also added 1/4 tsp. poultry seasoning to the chicken/onion/garlic mixture. When the meat mixture was cooling I added 1 cup shredded mozzarella to it. As far as the liquids, I used 3 8oz. cans tomato sauce (instead of 1, paste and water). This made alot of yummy sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint James, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Delicious, just like how my mom used to make them. Thank you for allowing me to share with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Leftover Turkey Spring Rolls

See how to create a delicious twist on Thanksgiving leftovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States