Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A quick and simple brining recipe! I used a roasting bag rather than a bucket and brined the turkey overnight in the fridge. I've found that when you brine a turkey you don't need to use a bag to roast it in, as the brine keeps the moisture inside. I honestly would rather not use a bag because it makes the skin rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I use this recipe every year for thanksgiving and Christmas. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sampson Johnson
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe! My 1st time smoking a turkey and it was a big hit. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sampson Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I used this for a turkey breast. I made a turkey and sausage gumbo, but I like to roast the turkey first before adding it to the gumbo. I adjusted the recipe to 5 servings, and had plenty to cover the breast in a gallon sized Ziploc baggie overnight. I didn't have any savory in my spice cabinet, so I substituted in some poultry seasoning. I also added a few whole black peppercorns to the brine while it boiled. I baked off the breast as normal, and it was really tasty. In fact, while hubby and I were picking the meat off the bone, he was shoveling in it. I couldn't fuss at him, cause I was doing the same thing! This is the first turkey in a while where my husband ate the leftover, so that's a great compliment (usually I freeze the cooked meat to use later...not on this bird!). This is a definite keeper, and I will be trying this out when I roast chickens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebree, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Farmington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I used this brine with a 16.5 lb turkey for Thanksgiving this year. While the turkey was flavorful and delicious I took away a star because prepping and cooking it was trickier than I expected and the meat had a softer (mushy?) texture I found unappealing. The turkey did cook faster than expected, the wings in particular browned in less than an hour so you may want to put foil over the wings and legs while the breast cooks. While it tasted great, I don't think I'll be doing this recipe again. It was very time consuming and difficult to execute. I used an XXL Ziploc storage bag (which is food safe) to brine the turkey and placed it in a cooler with ice because the whole thing was not going to fit in my fridge. I'm going back to stuffing my bird with citrus and fresh herbs, much easier and less time consuming with delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is a amazing recipe. The turkey is moist and flavorful. It was such a hit with the family that I making a second turkey for Christmas. I will stuff the second turkey with celery and apples... This was my first time trying brine. It is well worth the extra time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This made the best turkey I have ever had! The only change I made was substituting the vegetable broth for beef broth because I didn't have any. I used a 19 lb turkey and baked it at 350 for 3 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The best ever except I used chicken stock, and didn't refrigerate overnight. Cooked for 90minutes 13lbs. Turkey added ctr a seasoning to the top by brushing on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I cooked one of my best turkeys using this brine recipe for Thanksgiving this year. I brined it overnight, used some of the brining solution in the bottom of the pan, and put apricot jam under the skin of my turkey. I roasted breast-side down and flipped the bird two-thirds through the cooking process. My turkey was unstuffed. I used the brine in the bottom of the pan to baste the turkey every 30-45 minutes. Turned out fantastic! To keep things simple, I also roasted potatoes, carrots, pearl onions, and brussel sprouts rather than making the myriad of traditional recipes which my family doesn't care for, and served with a simple salad of greens, grapes, and pommegranites dressed with poppyseed dressing. Cranberry sauce by TJs and gravy made with a roux of butter and flour plus all the defatted and deglazed turkey drippings with a touch of white wine. Followed up with a homemade pumpkin pie. It's been requested for an apple pie in addition to all of this next year! Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe and super easy to make. As another user points out, round drink coolers similar to those you might see on the sidelines at sporting events are perfect for the brine, almost if they were made specifically for the purpose. Food grade plastic and very easy to clean-up. The flavor imparted by the brine is mild yet distinct and not the least bit salty. Even the driest portions of breast meat come out moist and tender. I did as other users suggested and used 1/2 gal. vegetable broth and 1/2 gallon apple juice with great results. This recipe is a definite keeper and one I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States