Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Delicious flavor. Tender & juicy. Note that "Broth" and "Bouillon" are NOT the same thing. Bouillon's first ingredient is SALT. Broth is simply the flavored water that is strained off after cooking vegetables or poultry. If anyone is worried about brine being too salty, you may reduce the amount of sea salt by the amount of 'bouillon' that is used. (tsp for tsp)It is not too salty if you adjust the seasonings this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have used this brine recipe for the past 3 Thanksgiving dinners and have had rave reviews every year. I love that the turkey ALWAYS turns out moist and yummy ... and I don't have to baste. Makes for phenomenal gravy ... and lots of compliments! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I used a baking bag instead of a bucket. Then put it in a bowl so it did not take up so much room the in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I am using this same recipe this year for Thanksgiving. Brining overnight made my Turkey tender last year and should be even better since I found another recipe in conjunction with this one. Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I actually haven't used the brine yet, I am trying it in a few days on my Thanksgiving turkey but I did want to give others a tip if they are contemplating trying this. Instead of buying pre=made veggie broth try buying the concentrated 4 pack made by Knorr it's called homestyle stock. It yields exactly 16 cups (one gallon) of broth and it only costs about $3.50 for a four pack. Can't wait to try this brine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AiliDeSpain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Cannot even describe how amazing this was. My mom's turkeys have always been just okay, and so I decided to take charge for Easter dinner and make this. It was my first turkey and no one could believe how incredibly juicy, tender, and moist it was. I followed the recipe for the brine exactly, including just letting the bucket sit in a cool place overnight. To cook it, I put an onion, carrot and celery stalk into the cavity. It started breast side down in a 325 degree oven for 2 hours. Then I turned it over and it took another 45 minutes or so to be done. For the last 15 minutes I turned the oven up to 400 to finish browning and basted it with a little butter. Did not cover it with foil, and otherwise didn't bother basting it. The meat was literally falling off the bones it was so tender and the flavor went all through the meat. It was seriously about as foolproof as you could get. The only change I'll make next time is to either reduce the sea salt or substitute water for some of the vegetable broth. It was just a touch on the salty side, I think because broth is often high in salt to begin with. Don't be afraid to try this recipe, it really was that easy. Cannot recommend it enough.. and ditto the other reviewers' comments on the drippings -- they make amazing gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was amazing! Slightly expensive, but by far the best turkey we have ever had. Entire family complimented how juicy and flavorful it turned out...each holiday, this is what they ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Had the most moist turkey ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this last night and it was incredible! I was told by two of the women guests that it was the best turkey they had ever had!!!! The only thing I changed was to add 1 litre of apple juice and vegetable stock since I only had one box of the vegetable stock at home. I also added fresh sage, fresh chives, fresh tarragon, fresh savory and fresh tyme as I have a herb garden that needed to be harvested. I will definitely do this again and again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Husband loved it so much he said he is going to cook the turkey this year and do the "soak" :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States