Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Incredibly moist although my turkey didn't cook any faster. I did use half vegetable broth, half apple juice) and kosher salt in place of sea salt. I roasted my turkey as usual, with orange slices in the cavity and fresh basil under the skin. Very moist, lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Awesome!! I made this recipe exactly as written. I've gotta say, our Thanksging turkey was extremely moist and had lots of flavor as a result of the brine. I recieved lots of compliments. Thanks for the great recipe! I'll use this everytime I make a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Amazing! I did butcher the recipe because I THOUGHT it said 1 gallon of chicken broth not vegetable broth. With that said, I accidently made 1 gallon of "Chicken Stock" for this recipe, used 2 cups of salt, and used 3T of each herb using fresh herbs. Also, I started to brine the fully frozen 16.55 lb turkey Monday afternoon. My bucket wasn't big enough so the turkey brined 12 hours side up and 12 hours side down until Wednesday night (48 hours total). Wednesday night, I discarded the turkey brine, thoroughly rinsed, dried with paper towels, covered with aluminum foil, and left it in the fridge until Thursday 12pm. Then, I continued cooking 325 degrees for 4 hours in a brown paper bag using "Perfect Turkey" ingredients. Super moist and not over seasoned even with the 2 cups of salt and fresh herbs. A definite keeper and will be my go to turkey brine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I just used this recipie for ideas. This is what I did; for the brine we used 4qt of broth, chopped chive, crushed peppercorn, and garlic. 22lb turkey. We cleaned out one of our coolers and put the turkey in that, just filled the rest with water after adding broth to cover the turkey. We soaked it for 2 days. Rinse well and pat dry. Put butter under the skin and rub all over turkey. In the cavity put 1 stick of butter, onion, garlic, celery and poltry seasoning. Bake at 400 uncovered for 30min then 350 for 2hrs covered. Its the BEST turkey EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Absolutely delicious! So moist, tender and fragrant. This recipe is now part of my family traditions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Ok so this was my very first time cooking Thanksgiving dinner and I was super nervous as the turkey process grosses me out!!! BUT I will do this recipe for every Thanksgiving from now on. We did our dinner last night and I will admit getting the turkey ready for cooking was a little difficult I can not fit a 5g bucket in my fridge on a good day let alone Thanksgiving day; so we did a cooler. For the mixture I did 1/2g Veggie broth and 1/2gallon of apple juice and the Brine mixture. Then placed the into a turkey plastic bag and put in the cooler with ice around it for about 15 hours and then cooked the turkey in the plastic bag(made for Turkeys) my boyfriend and his family said it was the best turkey they EVER HAD!!! I was pretty impressed with myself since it was the first time cooking a turkey. Its a long processes if your not a cook like me but worth it!!!!!! You can even buy already made brine mix. Everyone should do the turkey this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made my first Thanksgiving turkey with this brine. When I removed the turkey to the plater all the meat fell off the bone. It was absolutely the best turkey I ever had (sorry Grandma). For gravy, I put all the drippings in a sauce pan and slowly added corn starch until it reached a consistency I was happy with. Again the best I ever had. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strasburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
to make life easier, I used a small portion of the broth, and all the dry ingredients, combined in a small saucepan, brought to a boil, then mixed with additional broth. Made creating concentrate to add to the liquid much quicker to bring to a boil and to cool, then combined, much faster than bringing a gallon of liquid to a boil. Just faster, which at holiday time, I appreciate all shortcuts that don't affect quality! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
straight forward and easy, simple is a good thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
If you have storage room you can use a new 5 gallon plastic pail to brine, you can get one with a lid and if cold enough brine outside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States