Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Brining works great, this is a fantastic recipe. We brine and serve 3 turkeys at Thanksgiving, each with a different recipe. This one hit our top 10. We found a great container this year that made brining really easy. It's called The Briner, you can find it on line. It worked really well, trapping the birds below the brine surface. And we didn't use a heavy bowl to weigh it down! I recommend this piece of food equipment to anyone who enjoys bringing, it's a must have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Turkey definitely came out moister than roasting without it! I did not want to purchase that much veggie broth so I skipped that part and it was fine. Onion and celery were added to turkey before placing in oven bag and was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used a variation of this for my bird this year to rave reviews. People said they had never tasted a better bird, and I am inclined to agree! I did half broth and half apple cider, mainly because I like a little sweetness, and because I only had 2 quarts of broth. Also added 1/2 cup brown sugar, and skipped the savory, since I didn't have it, and used poultry seasoning instead. It was SO good! I then cooked it according to Alton Brown's recipe for a brined bird, with aromatics in the cavity, and with fresh sage and whole garlic cloves stuffed under the skin. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OVIEDOGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This didn't work for us. The turkey didn't taste any more moist or juicier than when we used a turkey bag. We even used the turkey bag to cook the brined bird just so it would be extra moist. So disappointing. We didn't overcook it either. The bird cooked a lot faster just like the recipe stated and we followed that time difference and took it out when it reached the correct temperature. Can't figure out why we didn't have the same results as all the happy reviewers. Did everyone else cook their turkeys the old fashioned way prior to brining and thought it was so great because it was juicer than the old way, but would have gotten the same result if they had just used a turkey bag? That is the only thing I can think of. Brining added so much time and money (given that vegetable stock cost $3 a carton) to our dinner for zero reward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This made for the best bird I have made ever!! I left the bird in the brine for two days and cut back on the salt. However, I agree that the drippings made a for a very salty gravy. That aside, the bird was moist, very juicy and tasty. Will be brining every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Don't worry about the salt quantity...if you're nervous, use kosher salt. You will rinse the bird, and the salt just helps everything permeate the turkey's tissue. Like everyone says: started brining a couple years back, will never do it any other way. FYI, I have never tried otherwise, but most recipes say not to bring more than 12-15 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Wow! This was a fabulous way to make turkey. I used coarse kosher salt and added unsweetened apple juice. Just right! I put the bird in a doubled turkey-sized bag and placed it in a cooler outside to work its magic. And did it...I'd never make another turkey without a brine. And yes...the gravy was delish. Roasting time was amazing. My 22 pounder was up to temp in under 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
People who say this is too salty more than likely used table salt, and not a course sea salt or kosher salt. Also 1 cup of sugar can be used to counter balance the salt. Also you must rinse the turkey when you take it out of the brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I used this brine for my turkey this Thanksgiving. This was the first time I had ever brined a turkey before. What a difference! My bird was juicy, flavorful and gorgeous. After rinsing and drying off the turkey, all I did was pour melted butter, sprinkle salt and pepper and pop in the oven. Tented for first half, uncovered last half. I had tons of drippings which made the most delicious gravy. I will never bake a turkey without brining first again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was an awesome brine. The turkey was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States