Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Brine? Really? My family has never brined anything and now am a senior citizen and wanted to do something differant! I BRINED!! It truly was the best turkey we ever had and I stuffed it! It was so awesome that we will never not brine a turkey. In fact I will brine our next whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used a combination of chicken broth and apple juice and didn't use savory because I didn't have any. I also didn't use as much salt. Once cooked, the turkey drippings were the base for an awesome gravy. This will be my brining recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
BEST TURKEY EVER!This Christmas was my first time trying a turkey with a brine! My family has done nothing but rave about it! The gravy really was to die for! One small change that i made was that instead of dried herbs i used fresh. Soooooooo yummy! My family and i will be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
First time brining our bird and it was absolutely amazing. So moist and tasty! We won't go back to 'regular' turkey ever again! We weren't quite able to brine for 1hr/lbs We brined our 17lb bird for about 13 hours and it was still amazing! Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I use this brine every year for my holiday turkeys and also for chicken. My variation is as follows. I use chicken broth and apple juice and kosher salt. The trick is to simmer so the salt is fully dissolved. After brining, I follow "The World's Best Turkey" by Sarah on allrecipes. I put garlic butter under the skin and inject my turkey with Tony Chachere's cajun butter. An apple and onion in the cavity, into the turkey bag breast side down with a bottle of champagne. Half way through flip the turkey over for an hour then remove the bag to brown the skin. I have this down to a science and am not wavering. Haha. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made my first turkey on thanksgiving and it was amazing! I used the reviews of previous cooks and used regular salt instead of sea salt and used about 3/4 of a cup. It worked out great! The turkey was juicy and full of flavor! Definitely recommend using this brine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Loved it! Perfect as is. I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Extra effort and expense, but worth it! Everyone loved the moist and tasty turkey. I've finally achieved a moist turkey! Just be sure the turkey is well thawed before brining, roast the turkey until internal temperature of thigh is 165 degrees F and then check at the thigh to see if juices are running clear. For my unstuffed 16lb turkey it took only 2.5 hours (at least 30 minutes faster than expected because of it having been brined for 9 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've used this for the last 2yrs and I love it!!! Thank you for the recipe the turkey was so tender and moist everyone raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Will never not brine turkey again! YUM! Added apple juice like other reviewers suggested. Definitely worth the trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States