Turkey Breast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I think the key to not drying out turkey is to remember that meat will continue to cook as it rests before slicing. I use an electronic thermometer that is left in the meat while cooking, and cook to 175. While resting during gravy prep the temperature will raise the rest of the way to 180-185, which is perfect for turkey. I also baste every 30-45 minutes, and put a couple of cups of water in the bottom of the pan. I really liked this rub. I hadn't thought of lemon pepper (I used salt free) for turkey before, and it gave it a nice taste. I ran out of Pam while spraying the turkey, so half my turkey had Pam and the other half had olive oil rubbed on the skin. Didn't notice a bit of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My family LOVED this turkey! It was quick and easy to prepare. I omitted the lemon pepper seasoning and used italian seasoning in its place. I also was worried about this drying out and the skin burning. I used 1 cup of low sodium chicken broth in the bottom of the pan and covered it for the first hour while cooking. I also basted every 30 minutes with the broth. It took 2 hours to get to 185 degrees. There isn't any left for sandwiches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Update: made tonight again for the upteenth time. Have a great new electric thermometer. It ruined this recipe. Do not cook this until 185 degrees as called for. Dried out. Should be about 170. I have always just baked for 2.5 hours at 325 and it was perfect. Don't follow the temperature in recipe. Wow, this is great. Smells great and the recipe is wonderful just as is. My 6 pound turkey breast (with bones) took about 2 1/2 hours to cook....and it smelled heavenly. I used another reviewer's suggestion and put 1 can of chicken broth in bottom of pan along with 1 medium onion sliced. I have always struggled with gravy and this came out amazing, and very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this for the first Thanksgiving my fiance and I spent together (today). I am a vegetarian, but cooked this for him. Since I could only find boneless turkey breast, as a previous reviewer, I put some white wine in the bottom of the pan--just enough to cover the bottom. I laid some chunks of onion in the pan, and laid the turkey breast on top. I seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and poultry seasoning. I basted about every 20 minutes, and my Fiance loved it. The meat was very moist and flavorful. I will likely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Made this last Sunday and everyone loved it. It made a wonderful gravy. My only substitution was broth, not boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This turkey turned out pretty good. I used a boneless turkey breast and found that I had to keep adding water to bottomof pan. Therefore the gravy was not as good as it should have been but would definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was delicious! Like others suggested, I would recommend adding a cup of chicken broth (and I added a little white wine) to the bottom of the pan, as there is little to baste with otherwise. The turkey turned out very moist and yummy and I'll definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINDENISE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
9/16/08: used frozen turkey breast. did not cover with foil. put 2 cups of ckn broth in pan and basted often. also put a few pats of butter under the skin. used all the spices except onion powder. made a terrific gravy. just added ckn broth, water and flour to drippings. allt the spices gave the gravy great flavor. made with mashed red potatoes, larry likes it mashed with a masher and not the mixer. kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving (there were only 3 of us) and it turned out amazing! I roasted it on a bed of sweet potatoes, and the flavor from the herb rub and the turkey drippings made everthing taste great. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Amazingly delicious! I made this for Sunday dinner today with my in-laws over, and it turned out perfectly! The seasoning rub and veggies in the cavity gave this so much flavor, and I cooked until my meat thermometer read 175- which was perfect. Very moist and yummy. The only thing I did not do was follow the directions for gravy. I have a foolproof gravy recipe I always use. Skim the fat off of the pan drippings, and then add them to a saucepan. Mix in a quarter cup of flour with a whisk until smooth, and then cook over medium-low heat until it turns into a thick roux. This happens fast, so don't walk away. Then add chicken broth a little at a time to your desired consistency. This always makes perfect gravy- no matter what type of roast you have made. I will definitely make this turkey again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States