Turkey Breast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I think the key to not drying out turkey is to remember that meat will continue to cook as it rests before slicing. I use an electronic thermometer that is left in the meat while cooking, and cook to 175. While resting during gravy prep the temperature will raise the rest of the way to 180-185, which is perfect for turkey. I also baste every 30-45 minutes, and put a couple of cups of water in the bottom of the pan. I really liked this rub. I hadn't thought of lemon pepper (I used salt free) for turkey before, and it gave it a nice taste. I ran out of Pam while spraying the turkey, so half my turkey had Pam and the other half had olive oil rubbed on the skin. Didn't notice a bit of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I modified this recipe for a two pound boneless turkey breast. I used a deep pot on the stove at medium high heat and put 1 cup water on the bottom as well as the celery and onion. I rubbed the breast with the seasonings (scaled down) and added a pad of butter. I just put the lid on and let it cook for about 45 mins. Absolutely wonderful! Would work nicely for a slow cooker as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
9/16/08: used frozen turkey breast. did not cover with foil. put 2 cups of ckn broth in pan and basted often. also put a few pats of butter under the skin. used all the spices except onion powder. made a terrific gravy. just added ckn broth, water and flour to drippings. allt the spices gave the gravy great flavor. made with mashed red potatoes, larry likes it mashed with a masher and not the mixer. kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Delicious! I played around with the spices, but other than that, made this recipe to a "t". I had to add some liquid to the pan to keep it moist, and I used a foil tent to help as well. If the recipe had called for these things I would have given it 5 stars. I made turkey soup with the carcass the next day. The gravy was absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
It was good. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
What a great recipe! I had never made gravy before & I was surprised that it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Super moist and delish! Great seasonings! Couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My family LOVED this turkey! It was quick and easy to prepare. I omitted the lemon pepper seasoning and used italian seasoning in its place. I also was worried about this drying out and the skin burning. I used 1 cup of low sodium chicken broth in the bottom of the pan and covered it for the first hour while cooking. I also basted every 30 minutes with the broth. It took 2 hours to get to 185 degrees. There isn't any left for sandwiches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Made this last Sunday and everyone loved it. It made a wonderful gravy. My only substitution was broth, not boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States