Turkey Breast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Not difficult and my family liked it. The only problem was that there was very little pan drippings to make gravy from, so we had only a small amount of gravy. However, what there was was delicious. Only change I made was to use chicken broth instead of water for the gravy. I would never add water to gravy, as it dilutes the flavour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This deserves 10 stars!! By far the best turkey I have ever had. I rubbed some of the seasoning mixture under the skin and used the rest on the outside. I used one can of chicken broth in the roasting pan and cooked to 170.I have never seen such a juicy flavorful bird!! This is the only way I will ever cook turkey from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Honestly, It will be a long time before I cook a turkey, the old fashion way. Old Black Woman, from Louisiana, gives this turkey recipe, more than two thumbs up. I also added turkey wings to recipe. My husband cut up wings, and I placed them in slow cooker with the breast. As the kids say, "OMG"!. I shared leftovers with two of my coworkers, and they said their families thought they were in seventh heaven. The only thing I did differently, was the gravy. My husband always make a "mean" gravy. So he added the gravy from the meat, and incorporated in his own thing, and all I can say, again, is "OMG". Thank you to the originator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverlye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Overall this was very good. It definitely needed some salt, though. Next time I will put some salt in the rub. I did add a pinch of thyme to the rub. Next time I will also put in a pinch of rosemary. This was very juicy as other reviewers said. It did cook faster than I thought it would. I had a 7 & 1/2 pound turkey breast that cooked in less than two hours. I took the advice of another reviewer, cooking it to a temperature of 165, mine actually was 170, and then letting it cost the rest of the way as it rested before cooking. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittlDuck15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
The rub was fantastic and didn't need altering. However I made some changes to the rest of the recipe. I used an eight lb turkey breast and rubbed olive oil on the outside instead of the spray. About 1 hour into cooking, I added 2 tbls of butter to the top. Then about a half hour later I added 1/2 cup of water to the bottom of the pan. Throughout the cooking time I continously basted the turkey. Cooked wonderfully! While the turkey was resting in another plate, I strained the juices into a saucepan. There was enough drippings so no broth or boullion was needed. Then I mixed 1 tbls of flour in 1/4 cup of warm water and mixed that well. While I was mixing the flour mixture up, I heat up the drippings almost to a slow boil and added the flour mixture. Came out great!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I really liked this recipe.Gravy is sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
All I can say is YUM! What a lovely recipe and delicious gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Used this recipe for Thanksgiving this year and think it was the best turkey I've ever had! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
While visiting Utah for Christmas, my mom bought a turkey breast instead of a whole Turkey as she assumed I liked white meat. Well, I generally don't but I used this recipe and it turned out to be the moistest most declicious turkey I've ever eaten. It blows away any restaurant's turkey! We didn't have lemon-pepper seasoning so I used italian and squeezed a lemon into the herb mixture. Also, I took my hand and seperated the skin from the breast meat and put about 5 pats of butter inbetween the skin/meat then secured the opening with toothpicks. I basted every 20 minutes or so, and this turkey (which was an 8 pound breast) was done before the recipe says so keep watching it! I made my own gravy recipe, so no need to use this one if you don't want to - the turkey is good enough! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this on Christmas Day and it was fantastic! I used 2 3 lb.boneless turkey breasts; a quart of low-sodium chicken broth, and used Wondra flour to make the gravy. Will definitely make again, as these were much more moist than the whole turkey also on the family's Christmas buffet table. The spice rub really made a great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States