Turkey Breast with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
It was OK, my lemon pepper was too much pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Not difficult and my family liked it. The only problem was that there was very little pan drippings to make gravy from, so we had only a small amount of gravy. However, what there was was delicious. Only change I made was to use chicken broth instead of water for the gravy. I would never add water to gravy, as it dilutes the flavour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This deserves 10 stars!! By far the best turkey I have ever had. I rubbed some of the seasoning mixture under the skin and used the rest on the outside. I used one can of chicken broth in the roasting pan and cooked to 170.I have never seen such a juicy flavorful bird!! This is the only way I will ever cook turkey from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Honestly, It will be a long time before I cook a turkey, the old fashion way. Old Black Woman, from Louisiana, gives this turkey recipe, more than two thumbs up. I also added turkey wings to recipe. My husband cut up wings, and I placed them in slow cooker with the breast. As the kids say, "OMG"!. I shared leftovers with two of my coworkers, and they said their families thought they were in seventh heaven. The only thing I did differently, was the gravy. My husband always make a "mean" gravy. So he added the gravy from the meat, and incorporated in his own thing, and all I can say, again, is "OMG". Thank you to the originator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverlye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Overall this was very good. It definitely needed some salt, though. Next time I will put some salt in the rub. I did add a pinch of thyme to the rub. Next time I will also put in a pinch of rosemary. This was very juicy as other reviewers said. It did cook faster than I thought it would. I had a 7 & 1/2 pound turkey breast that cooked in less than two hours. I took the advice of another reviewer, cooking it to a temperature of 165, mine actually was 170, and then letting it cost the rest of the way as it rested before cooking. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittlDuck15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
The rub was fantastic and didn't need altering. However I made some changes to the rest of the recipe. I used an eight lb turkey breast and rubbed olive oil on the outside instead of the spray. About 1 hour into cooking, I added 2 tbls of butter to the top. Then about a half hour later I added 1/2 cup of water to the bottom of the pan. Throughout the cooking time I continously basted the turkey. Cooked wonderfully! While the turkey was resting in another plate, I strained the juices into a saucepan. There was enough drippings so no broth or boullion was needed. Then I mixed 1 tbls of flour in 1/4 cup of warm water and mixed that well. While I was mixing the flour mixture up, I heat up the drippings almost to a slow boil and added the flour mixture. Came out great!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I really liked this recipe.Gravy is sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
All I can say is YUM! What a lovely recipe and delicious gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Used this recipe for Thanksgiving this year and think it was the best turkey I've ever had! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
While visiting Utah for Christmas, my mom bought a turkey breast instead of a whole Turkey as she assumed I liked white meat. Well, I generally don't but I used this recipe and it turned out to be the moistest most declicious turkey I've ever eaten. It blows away any restaurant's turkey! We didn't have lemon-pepper seasoning so I used italian and squeezed a lemon into the herb mixture. Also, I took my hand and seperated the skin from the breast meat and put about 5 pats of butter inbetween the skin/meat then secured the opening with toothpicks. I basted every 20 minutes or so, and this turkey (which was an 8 pound breast) was done before the recipe says so keep watching it! I made my own gravy recipe, so no need to use this one if you don't want to - the turkey is good enough! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States