Turkey Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Delicious and easy to make. Great use for leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made this soup out of our Thanksgiving turkey carcass which I had first rubbed the meat with a nice herby garlicy rub before cooking. The turkey was delicious and moist, which made the soup all that much better. I had to pick up some paprika, but had everything else in my pantry. I used orzo, and think the beans are not needed. It's just very yummy, homey, and makes me sleepy every time I have some :) Not much effort for some great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Excedllent recipe. Very tasty result.I madded some quartered mushrooms to the start of the recipe and put them in the grinder also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Made this today with the carcass from a turkey breast we roasted for a mini-Thanksgiving meal! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly except added some fresh carrots and frozen peas rather than mixed vegetables. I didn't have any kidney beans but was going to put a small can of garbanzo beans, except by the time the rice cooked I didn't have much broth left, so I didn't put in any beans. I may have yielded a smaller amount since I was using a breast carcass rather than an entire turkey carcass. But regardless, this is some seriously delicious soup! I plan on freezing most of it so I can share it next week with the family, you know, show off a little heehee. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Wagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have NOT made this yet but it sounds wonderful..several reviewers mention cooking this in the crock pot and I would like to as well but being new to crock pot cooking I'm not sure how long to cook it for. Would anyone be willing to elaborate on the best way to cook this in a crock pot please? Thank you in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a recipe I have been making for years and my mother made before me. Carrots, celery, onions and mushrooms are the only vegi's I put in it. You don't need to add chicken broth if you start with a whole carcass with plenty of meat on it. For a really good change when you don't have a holiday turkey to start from use smoked turkey legs, which I have found in the grocery store. Noodles or rice works well in this soup. A recipe for this does it no justice, it's a recipe you can make up as you go and use whatever sounds good in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I made this about 1 month ago and intended to freeze it for the winter! It didn't make it to the freezer as it was gobbled up! I followed the recipe almost completely. I added carrots instead of the frozen veggies. I also used a turkey carcass that was smoked on the grill, it added such a wonderful flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is the 1st time I've tried a turkey soup and this was excellent but I did make some changes. I also skipped the broth and just used water. Instead of beans I added in my roasted potatoes that I had leftover and I added 2 cans of cream of chicken soup (low sodium). This added just the right flavor and made the turkey flavor a littler milder. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Have tried to make a good turkey bone soup 3 times, this is my third recipe. First, the photo is unappetizing. Mine did not look like that, mine was more green from the oregano, basil and frozen spinach I added. The recipe was very easy to make. Hubby did not like it, I thought it tasted okay but nothing to brag about. I liked the kidney beans, never had a turkey bone soup recipe with them before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I didnt do the part about putting it all in a blender. I put the stock in the refridgerator overnight to skim off the fat the next day. I used a can of butter beans and Rice a Roni, long grain rice, and some brown rice. It came out great, didn't really have to use any more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biggirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States