Turkey Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this in my crockpot today. I made my broth with water, as I didn't want my broth overpowering OR to have extra salt. I sauteed my veggies, including carrot rings, in a mixture of EVOO and butter before adding it to the stock. I also added a couple bay leaves. We don't really like kidney beans or frozen peas and carrots, so we omitted those. This works really well in the crockpot, just add the rice in right before serving. TIP: Add in your leftover gravy. It not only thickens your soup a bit, it adds another layer of flavor! It's great to add in your leftover veggies, too, just to use everything up in one fell swoop. That's the great thing about turkey soup, it's so forgiving and you can make it work to feed everyone you know. EDITED REVIEW: Yes, I add my leftover gravy. I make sure to add cold gravy that I've skimmed off the fat previously. You can prevent fat issues by cooling the soup before serving so you can skim off the fat, if you so choose. You can cut corners and use a canned gravy, which makes the soup taste great with little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made this soup out of our Thanksgiving turkey carcass which I had first rubbed the meat with a nice herby garlicy rub before cooking. The turkey was delicious and moist, which made the soup all that much better. I had to pick up some paprika, but had everything else in my pantry. I used orzo, and think the beans are not needed. It's just very yummy, homey, and makes me sleepy every time I have some :) Not much effort for some great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
great recipe, I ommited chicken broth and added Wild rice (I now live in minnesota) and Okra (mmm southern goodness) I'm from the south. Good bachelor chow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Used a leftover rotisserie chx, so I only boiled it for one hour. Followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Delish! My family likes their food spiced up and my soups have alwalys been bland. I followed this recipe to a T with one exception- I used orzo instead of rice. Perfect blend of seasonings to give it a perfect kick. Will definitelly make this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup turned out pretty good! Actually the best that I've ever made. I never followed a recipe before, so that's probably why! haha Wasn't too sure about the kidney beans, but had them in the cupboard, so I threw them in. They were great :) I will follow this recipe again in the future. oh! I forgot to mention that instead of adding the frozen veggies, I added the leftover steamed veggies from thanksgiving dinner. So I threw in the carrots, broccoli, and brussel sprouts into the blender with the 1/2 cups of stock. I also only had 1/2 cup of rice, so I added a 1/2 cup of orzo. I found that this soup was even better the second day... and with a couple squirts of smoky tabasco in my bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I made this about 1 month ago and intended to freeze it for the winter! It didn't make it to the freezer as it was gobbled up! I followed the recipe almost completely. I added carrots instead of the frozen veggies. I also used a turkey carcass that was smoked on the grill, it added such a wonderful flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Made this today with the carcass from a turkey breast we roasted for a mini-Thanksgiving meal! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly except added some fresh carrots and frozen peas rather than mixed vegetables. I didn't have any kidney beans but was going to put a small can of garbanzo beans, except by the time the rice cooked I didn't have much broth left, so I didn't put in any beans. I may have yielded a smaller amount since I was using a breast carcass rather than an entire turkey carcass. But regardless, this is some seriously delicious soup! I plan on freezing most of it so I can share it next week with the family, you know, show off a little heehee. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneCooks1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Excedllent recipe. Very tasty result.I madded some quartered mushrooms to the start of the recipe and put them in the grinder also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is the 1st time I've tried a turkey soup and this was excellent but I did make some changes. I also skipped the broth and just used water. Instead of beans I added in my roasted potatoes that I had leftover and I added 2 cans of cream of chicken soup (low sodium). This added just the right flavor and made the turkey flavor a littler milder. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States