Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Very good! Refreshingly different from the usual tacos we make and also easy to customize for the spice-intolerant toddlers in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
My hubby and I love this recipe. To cut down on calories we don't use the tortilla but put it over a bed of lettuce then garnish with tomatoes and plain yogurt. (I like ketchup on it also) We feel like it is a healthy meal. Usually ground turkey is pretty bland so we were happy it was so spicy and good and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Five stars, for sure. I used what I had on hand. Pictsweet frozen Brown Sugar Sweet Potatoes, cut smaller (the sweetness turned out to be a great thing! One canned chipotle pepper with adobo sauce (in lieu of chili powder), a few jarred jalapeno pepper slices, and red salsa. Holy smokes this was good. Seriously, I knew it was a keeper at first bite. Don't be afraid to use those glazed sweet potatoes. It's easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Oh wow this was really awesome, to make it healthier next time I am going to double the sweet potatoes and half the meat, but the way it is right now is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This is so good!!!! The flavors are great. I didn't change anything other than adding a little more salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Good even w/o the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
My family loves this. I use chili spices and pico de gallo instead of Cajun spices and tomatillo salsa just because that is what we have. This is one of our granddaughter's favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I make these often as a quick go-to meal that I can eat on all week. These are great! And taste really good with the addition if cinnamon, and a jar of sweet corn salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a great recipe and has been in my rotation since I found it over a year ago. It's fairly easy, the results are delicious, and it can be adapted to suit the spice level you are looking for by either including more or less jalapenos and starting with a spicier or milder salsa. The leftovers reheat well, too. But perhaps the best surprise of all was how awesome this mixture tastes as a tamale filling. It makes a lot and there are just two people in my home, but the leftovers never go to waste. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This recipe far exceeded my expectations! Delicious! I thought I was a semi-spicy tolerant person, but one large jalapeno pepper was plenty for me. I also doubled the garlic as I do with all recipes and also served with corn tortillas as to make the meal gluten-free. A little tomatillo salsa and cilantro on the taco as a garnish added a nice cool flavor in addition to the already present sweet and spiciness. Next time I think I might offer some sour cream on the side as another reviewer recommended in case anyone needs to cool it down a little. Amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States