Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I only gave it 4 stars due to modifications based on previous reviews, but overall a very good recipe! Based on the reviews, I only used 1/2 Tbs of Chipoltle Tabasco and used 1/2 Tbs of Chipoltle barbecue sauce due to not wanting it to be too hot for my parents. Also based on previous reviews, I reduced the salt to 1 tsp. Oh, for some smokiness, I added 1/2 a teaspoon of liquid smoke. It seemed too moist, so I also added 3 teaspoons of bread crumbs. The glaze was a little too sweet, so I think next time I will either do just ketchup or barbecue sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was a big hit at my house! My son is allergic to beef, and meatloaf has been off the menu, but not anymore! I did reduce the hot sauce, though. Don't like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Yum!!! I've been wanting to try this one for awhile, but my husband isn't a fan of quinoa, so I hadn't until now. I made it and waited until he tried it and liked it before telling him what was in it! He had no complaints! I didn't have tomato paste, so used ketchup and we don't like spicy, so I used BBQ sauce instead of hot sauce, as suggested by another reviewer. I also added about a cup of shredded marble cheese, also as suggested by another! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe was a hit with my hubby who is a major meatloaf fan, but isn't too wild about turkey meatloaf. I made a few adjustments since I didn't have some of the ingredients. I used A-1 steak sauce and soy sauce in place of Worcestershire, ketchup instead of tomato paste, mixed the onion and garlic right in without cooking first, stuck with old fashion ketchup for topping since I didn't have brown sugar, and used 2 eggs. I even sent it for lunch with my 3 year old the next day. The container came back empty. My 2 year old on the other hand wouldn't touch it, but that's not saying much since he won't eat most things unless it's covered with breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSENIKKI2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was amazing!! Moist and flavorful and cooked to perfection easy peasy!! I cut the hot sauce in half as other reviewers suggested and was glad I did, still had a bit of a kick but didn't overpower the AMAZING taste. It didn't need any kind of sauce or seasoning once cooked (although I used ketchup to draw 'laces' on my football shaped loaf and that was a nice little addition). The recipe calls for 1.25 lbs of ground turkey, I used ground chicken because that's what I accidently grabbed from the store... I had to get 2 1lb packages but next time will just use 1lb and hopefully it will be just as good. MMMmMMmMMmMmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was great! I just so happened to have some quinoa, and figured I'd give it a try. The only thing is I can never get the loaf to stay in a loaf shape. It eventually spreads almost flat across the whole baking pan. But it still tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! Incredible and loved by all ages--my 2 year and 8 year old sons loved, as did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
My Husband and I just made this recipe with some changes based on reviews and what we had in cabinet. We did 2 eggs, no worcestershire sauce, used a full small can of tomato paste for the loaf. We also did half the sugar and replaced worcestershire sauce with hot sauce for the coating. Since we changed it so much it was hard to tell if it was cooked so we cooked it for about 30 mins longer than recipe said. It turned out well and was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I tied this tonight, using Stubbs BBQ sauce with a bit of hot sauce instead of the paste, brown sugar, etc. It was good and made generous servings. However, I think I will stick to adding oatmeal, not quinoa. It's not as expensive and time consuming. Thanks for sharing it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tremont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Great Recipe, that I've made many times for friends and family. Two changes that I always make is 1) delete the pepper sauce. 2) Use the Italian style herbs added ground turkey that is found in most super markets. I find it makes for a well balanced spicy taste that is not overpowered by peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,059) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States