Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Drew
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
So happy so many people like this recipe. Just to address a couple of issues some people are having: When making the recipe I used ground turkey which was a mixture of white and dark meat. This not only helped add flavor but it also added moisture that helped it to not become crumbly. Adding an extra egg is also a great way to bind it even more and hey! Extra protein! Secondly, this meatloaf is meant to be free-formed on a flat pan. Ground turkey and ground beef cook two different ways. Beef tends to give off a considerable amount of fat and a little juice making it ok (although not at all healthy) to cook it in a loaf pan soaking in its oils.... turkey and chicken on the other hand give off a lot of moisture and very little fat, so basically when you cook it in a loaf pan it is steaming and soaking in turkey water, making for a mushy fall-aparty (yes i made that word up) loaf. I hope this helps some of the future folk who make this recipe. ~drew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I doubled the recipe and took it to a potluck and it went over very well! Cooked Quinoa in chicken broth and added tomato paste to top. It was very good. Making it again tonight and will add an additional egg to the recipe. Thanks for sharing! this is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goofy_hobbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was awesome. I used bbq sauce instead of hot sauce and the flavor was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This recipe is a family favorite! I love quinoa and I'm constantly trying to find different ways to use it. I do a couple different things with this recipe, just for my own personal taste. -I leave out the hot sauce, since I have 2 small children, but I add some on top of my serving. -I add 1 cup of grated cheese to the meatloaf, I like the extra flavor and it moistens it up a bit. -I haven't yet tried the topping for this recipe because I love my old one too much. 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. ketchup, 1 Tbsp Mustard and a few splashes of Worchestershire. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I am always looking for new ways to prepare ground turkey and this meatloaf is one of the best! Perfect combination of flavors and loved the texture. I made this for my very picky husband who raved about it. Next time I make this (and there will be a next time) I will add a little cheese...maybe cheddar. But do yourself a healthy favor and make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Thank you for a recipe that lets me serve meatloaf again! I haven't used ground beef for about 12 years and miss a good meatloaf. My poultry-hating hubby LOVED this meatloaf and asked me to make a double recipe next time so he could have a meatloaf sandwich the next day. To round out the menu I served it with baked sweet potatoes and steamed broccoli. It was a wonderful family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was the BEST meatloaf I have ever eaten! The only change that I made was to scale back the hot sauce to 1/2 TB for my kiddo. The whole family went back for seconds. Thank you for a wonderful nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fantastic! I couldn't believe how much kick came from the 1 T. of hot sauce though, might scale it back next time for the kiddos. But wonderful meatloaf!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Awesome, I did not have tomatoe paste so I used Ketchup instead and it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I LOVED this! The quinoa is a fantastic flavour in the mix (and an excellent protein source), even my very picky roommate loved it and 3 hours later is still raving about it. I added diced zucchini to the recipe and instead of hot pepper sauce I used sweet chili sauce which gave it a wonderful zip, but not too overpowering. Absolutely lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,059) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States