Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
My very first attempt at meatloaf (turkey or otherwise) ever and it turned out wonderful! I was shopping at TJs so no Worcestershire sauce instead I used the Trader Joe's brand steak sauce ultimately probably making the whole dish a little sweeter. My only hiccup was that the 15-20 minute cooking time for the Quinoa was way too long. I ended up burning it and charing the pan. I ended up doubling the amount I cooked (only using half) -- my saucepan was probably just too big -- and cooking for ten minutes. I will, for sure make this again and enjoy the leftovers this week. Thanks Drew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I am not a fan of regular meatloaf, but this was FANTASTIC! I LOVED the texture of the ground meat and quinoa and felt the quinoa added a nice flavour. I think where this recipe goes wrong is not mentioning what TYPE of hot pepper sauce people should use. I read some reviews that thought the 'hot sauce' was overpowering, some that called the recipe bland. There are so many types of hot pepper sauce with differing flavour profiles, I'd like to know what type/brand the recipe's author intended. The first time I made this, I used a Thai sweet garlic chilli sauce, as a review recommended and it was PERFECT!! The second time I tried a Jamaican hot pepper sauce and it was too bland. I would never try a tablespoon of tabasco because I think that WOULD overwhelm the recipe, but I might try 1/2 TBS. This is a fantastic recipe and I intend to keep experimenting with the different hot pepper sauces, but I'll double the recipe and make one with the sweet garlic chilli sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Did it just like it said. My family loved it. About to make it a second time. Will double the recipe for a pot luck. Super healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
My family clamours for this meatloaf recipe! I would like to retain some for lunches but it's not possible. Everything is gobbled down at one sitting and they look around expectantly for more! This recipe rocks the free world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wascoopy
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
First time coming quinoa. Glad I made this recipe. Modified just a tad. My package of ground turkey was only 16 oz. Didn't have tomato paste so I used a tad over tablespoon of surachi (spicy oriental sauce) and tad over tablespoon of catchup. Didn't shape meatloaf to big so it doesn't take very long in oven. I'm thinking about 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wascoopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metropolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Very tasty and the quinoa gives the meatloaf a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akivisuals

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Added basil, oregeno and parsely from the garden….yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. I was looking for tips on how to make a flavorful turkey meatloaf. Quinoa is a much more flavorful and nutritious addition than regular breadcrumbs. I used this recipe and basic method as a template for an Asian-inspired teriyaki turkey meatloaf with quinoa, so I can not comment on the exact proportion of spices and ingredients this recipe yields, but the quinoa was a great, nutty, hearty addition to the meat. I used ground white meat turkey because that's what I had. I'm sure a mix of white and dark meat would have been more flavorful, but it was still quite good. The meatloaf looked like a big unappetizing blob with congealed egg liquid all around it when it came out of the oven, but after resting it for 15 minutes and slicing it on a platter, it looked quite nice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We love this one! I've been asked to make this allot over the last yr. I do make it with ground turkey but both ways are very good. This is a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
we liked iit-I think it could use more spices to up the flavor...maybe some bouillon some other herbs-I added more egg because I had 2 leftover egg yolks,so I added 1 egg, plus 2 yolks-- it might have changed the texture?- who knows? It sliced and held together very well. The quinoa made it more healthy. We are try to eat less red meat & more fish.I miss old favorites and this fits the bill. I will play around with more herbs--I used ketchup, brown suagr and mustard glazed on top--I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,088) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States