Turkey and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
The recipe was easy to make but just took longer then the recipe states. I thought the turkey was a bit bland even with the onion and there was too much of the mixture on top. I may try this again and adjust it to something I think could be better. I definitely like the hash brown on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Carrollton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I replaced the hash browns for diced, baked sweet potatoes; then added green beans in place of broccoli. Very tasty stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangoart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
My family loved it and ate the whole plate. I didnt have cream of celery, but it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dayton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
So easy and delicious! Found this with the ingredients finder (looking for ground turkey and broccoli) and luckily had everything else on hand, because it was awesome. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This has become a regular recipe in our home. It is great when I need a ground turkey recipe & I usually have these ingredients (or similiar) on hand. I substitute cream of asparagus or cream of broccoli for the cream of mushroom, since my husband doesn't eat mushrooms. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
i loved all the advice by the other people that reviewed this recipe but i am surprised no one mentioned the "blandness" of the hashbrowns. everything was full off flavor as for the top layer of the casserole, but the potatoes could have used something. salt,cheese, something?? almost like i could have mixed the potatoes in with the mix and use it as the bottom and top layer of the casserole. things i did change in the recipe: used half can of cream of chicken and a cup of sour cream instead of the cream of celery, loved it and added more cheese to the mixture. also used others advice and used 2 lbs of the hash browns. cooked the casserole for 45 min instead of 30 because it seemed cold after 30 still. i would give this recipe a 3 1/2 star but i cant. so three will do. easy to make, may make again if i figure out how to make the hash browns less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was kind of bland. I am not familiar with a frozen hash brown producet in a 1lb size, so I used "Simply Potatoes" hash browns. The 1 cup cream of celery soup was odd too -- is that 1 cup of undiluted soup (which would leave some leftover) or 1 cup of canned cream of celery soup, prepared??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Good easy one-dish recipe. I skipped browning the hash browns, just spreading them in the sprayed pan, which cut down on prep time. I also used fresh steamed broccoli, zucchini, and mushrooms instead of just frozen broccoli. The family liked it, but didn't love it. I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I took A LOT of shortcuts with this recipe. I browned the turkey without the oil and while that was cooking, I microwaved the broccoli according to the directions. I mixed 2 whole cans of cream of mushroom soup with 1/2 cup of milk and doubled the garlic powder and pepper. I omitted the onion-not a fan. Once the turkey and broccoli was done, I combined it with the soup mixture and dumped in 2 drained cans of diced potatoes. Once this all of this was mixed, I put it in the oven for 25 minutes and it was delicious. Will definitely make again. Next time I may add a little sourcream for some zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use things I had on hand without rushing out to the store. As such, I had to make a couple of alterations to the recipe. I used fresh potatoes, that I shredded myself - 4 large russets to make about 2 pounds of hash browns. I cut down on the cook time by using my double-patented "dirty the whole kitchen" method (tm). I cooked all of the hash browns in one batch on my griddle while I browned the ground turkey and onions on the stove. I only microwaved my broccoli until it was not frozen solid, as I wanted it to be crisp and not mushy in the casserole. I used 1 can cream of mushroom, one half can milk, and half a cup of sour cream for the sauce because I'm not really a fan of heavy "cream-of" flavor. I actually found that this was PLENTY of sauce for us. Using the full amount of soup would probably have ended up with mush. What we had was a surprisingly delicious casserole. I might add a bit more cheese if I made it again, but otherwise it's a good go-to for a pantry-ready dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States