Turkey and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I found this casserole unique and my family really enjoyed it. Like other reviewers, I increased the hashbrowns to 2 pounds and I used both full cans of soup. For newer cooks, it might be helpful to recommend county style hash browns (shredded) rather than southern style (cubed). There's also a brand of 'fresh' hash browns on the market (Simply Potatoes, I think) and they work really well. At least you won't have to deal with defrosting the potatoes. Also like others, it took much longer to prepare than suggested. For me personally, I'm sure its due to the amount of time I spent browning 2 pounds of potatoes. So here's my final recommendation: Don't spend an excessive amount of time trying to get that perfect shade of golden brown taters! They're still going to cook/crisp in the oven. My 'crust' was a little on the well-done side; any longer and it would have burned. Hope this is useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
This was a good casserole, but it took about twice as long to make. Also, if I had it to do over again, I would have added more hash browns (between 1/4 and 1/2 more). But, I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I was suprised how good this cassarole was!! My family loved it. I did add more hashbrowns(2#) and put it in a 9x13. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My husband shot a turkey yesterday morning and I was looking for a recipe to use the meat. I just cut the meat into strips and fried it with the onion instead of using ground turkey. I also used two lbs. of hash browns. I didn't cook the hash browns ahead, I just pressed them into the bottom of a 9X13 pan. I also increased the milk to 1/2 cup. This recipe turned out so creamy and delicious. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
So easy and so good - I was really surprised! Took about 20-25 minutes to prepare and more like 30-35 to cook. I did use regular "cream of" and cheese, but did use non-fat sour cream and skim milk. I also sauted a bit of cornflakes and sprinkled them on top for some crunch. Next time I might add some seasonings or fresh garlic in when browning the turkey, and I'll finely chop the onions to spread out the flavor a bit more. And it made a ton, enough for 3 large guys and lunch leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Like the other reviewers mentioned, this took longer to make and required the measurements to be adjusted. I used more than double the amount of hashbrowns, and could have used another 1/2 pound or so of ground turkey. I also thought the onion was overpowering...maybe 1/2 of a large onion would have been better. When it came out of the oven and we served ourselves in our plates, it did not look all that appetizing (kind of like a "mush") but the taste was actually quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This dish was pretty good. I followed suggestions and used 2 lbs of hashbrowns and a 9x13 pan. I also used two entire cans of the cream soups. I think green beans would be a good substitution if you aren't a broccoli fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I took A LOT of shortcuts with this recipe. I browned the turkey without the oil and while that was cooking, I microwaved the broccoli according to the directions. I mixed 2 whole cans of cream of mushroom soup with 1/2 cup of milk and doubled the garlic powder and pepper. I omitted the onion-not a fan. Once the turkey and broccoli was done, I combined it with the soup mixture and dumped in 2 drained cans of diced potatoes. Once this all of this was mixed, I put it in the oven for 25 minutes and it was delicious. Will definitely make again. Next time I may add a little sourcream for some zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use things I had on hand without rushing out to the store. As such, I had to make a couple of alterations to the recipe. I used fresh potatoes, that I shredded myself - 4 large russets to make about 2 pounds of hash browns. I cut down on the cook time by using my double-patented "dirty the whole kitchen" method (tm). I cooked all of the hash browns in one batch on my griddle while I browned the ground turkey and onions on the stove. I only microwaved my broccoli until it was not frozen solid, as I wanted it to be crisp and not mushy in the casserole. I used 1 can cream of mushroom, one half can milk, and half a cup of sour cream for the sauce because I'm not really a fan of heavy "cream-of" flavor. I actually found that this was PLENTY of sauce for us. Using the full amount of soup would probably have ended up with mush. What we had was a surprisingly delicious casserole. I might add a bit more cheese if I made it again, but otherwise it's a good go-to for a pantry-ready dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I loved how tasty plus healthy this recipe is! I also used 2 lbs of hashbrowns and can't imagine using less... I used cream of chicken instead of cream of celery soup and I loved the add flavor... Plus I had to cook it for about 45 minutes to get the soup thick and bottom golden. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States