Turkey and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
So easy and so good - I was really surprised! Took about 20-25 minutes to prepare and more like 30-35 to cook. I did use regular "cream of" and cheese, but did use non-fat sour cream and skim milk. I also sauted a bit of cornflakes and sprinkled them on top for some crunch. Next time I might add some seasonings or fresh garlic in when browning the turkey, and I'll finely chop the onions to spread out the flavor a bit more. And it made a ton, enough for 3 large guys and lunch leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My husband shot a turkey yesterday morning and I was looking for a recipe to use the meat. I just cut the meat into strips and fried it with the onion instead of using ground turkey. I also used two lbs. of hash browns. I didn't cook the hash browns ahead, I just pressed them into the bottom of a 9X13 pan. I also increased the milk to 1/2 cup. This recipe turned out so creamy and delicious. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was a fabulous recipe. I loved all the different textures going on in one biteful. I doubled the hashbrowns and the ground turkey. I used fresh broccoli that was steamed in place of frozen. It was delicious. Everyone loved it from a 2 year old grandbaby to a lovable husband!!! Will cook again definately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was great! I did have to make a few changes SORRY! I had to omit cream of celery, onion and garlic powder. I then added broccoli cheese soup fresh garlic, two ribs of celery, minced and 1/2 package onion soup mix. Mix everything together, put a lid on it turn to low and simmer for 20 minutes. My oven broke so I have to improvise. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I was looking for something different for dinner and ran across this my family loved it!!! Its feeds quite a few ppl and very easy to throw together. I used some left over Thanksgiving turkey I had it the freezer that made it even easier thanks for a great recipe this one goes into the rotation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This has become a regular recipe in our home. It is great when I need a ground turkey recipe & I usually have these ingredients (or similiar) on hand. I substitute cream of asparagus or cream of broccoli for the cream of mushroom, since my husband doesn't eat mushrooms. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
So easy and delicious! Found this with the ingredients finder (looking for ground turkey and broccoli) and luckily had everything else on hand, because it was awesome. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
My family loved it and ate the whole plate. I didnt have cream of celery, but it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dayton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use things I had on hand without rushing out to the store. As such, I had to make a couple of alterations to the recipe. I used fresh potatoes, that I shredded myself - 4 large russets to make about 2 pounds of hash browns. I cut down on the cook time by using my double-patented "dirty the whole kitchen" method (tm). I cooked all of the hash browns in one batch on my griddle while I browned the ground turkey and onions on the stove. I only microwaved my broccoli until it was not frozen solid, as I wanted it to be crisp and not mushy in the casserole. I used 1 can cream of mushroom, one half can milk, and half a cup of sour cream for the sauce because I'm not really a fan of heavy "cream-of" flavor. I actually found that this was PLENTY of sauce for us. Using the full amount of soup would probably have ended up with mush. What we had was a surprisingly delicious casserole. I might add a bit more cheese if I made it again, but otherwise it's a good go-to for a pantry-ready dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I replaced the hash browns for diced, baked sweet potatoes; then added green beans in place of broccoli. Very tasty stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangoart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States