Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Meg
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe is great, but I prefer to call it Chicken Pot Pie Puffs since I rarely use turkey and it has the flavor of pot pie. My son (3 years old) and I love it and it's an easy recipe to make. Grab a roasted chicken from the deli at the store and its super easy! I also like to use frozen carrot/peas. It adds some color and tastes delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Easy to make. I added onions with the mushrooms for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great way to use up leftover turkey from Thanksgiving. I did sauté some chopped onion, yellow bell pepper and carrot along with the mushrooms to give it a little bit of color. Thought it was a tad bland, so I added a bit of poultry seasoning. I did have to thicken it a bit, since the consistency was too thin, but that was not a big deal. Served over puff pastry shells for a nice presentation. As written, 4 stars, but with the minor changes I made, it's a 5-star recipe (and that comment is from my husband). Definitely will be making this whenever I have leftover chicken or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Yea! It tasted just like Grandma used to make. I served it over toasted & buttered sourdough bread ~ yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
this was good! We need to double the recipe though if making for more than 2 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Great recipe for leftover turkey! Instead of the pastry boats, I too doubled this recipe and also used my left over STUFFING, used carrots in place of the peas and transferred mixture to a greased 9x13 baking dish. Next, I spread my leftover stuffing over the top of the turkey mixture. Baked 30-40 mins (depending on how crunchy you like your top) Was a great dish! Will make this again, even if it's not Thanksgiving. I would love to try this recipe in the pastry boats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Both my husband & I liked it. I used left over turkey that had been smoked. It gave it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was great!! I did the recipe for 6 - A few changes - I added 1/2 small onion diced fine, 1 small jar of pimento's, 1/2 c of peas, substituted the heavy cream with a mixture of 1/2 & 1/2 and milk, used 1/2 can of cream of chicken soup and a little garlic. Bought the pre-made puff pastry shells. Great dinner with broccoli casserole as the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Whenever we have a family function I ask for some leftover turkey so I can make this. Very quick and tasty. The recipe as shown doesn't make a terribly large portion, so I'd recommend doubling or tripling if you have a large family or just a hearty appetite. I normally add a red bell pepper to sneak in some extra veggies and serve over Grands biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
yummy! Great use for left over Turkey. Similar to a Pot Pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States