Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
a la king has always been a good comfort stand by meal in my family since I was a kid. traditionally we use green pepper, shallots, mushrooms and about 1/2C cream sherry to the sauce but no peas. thank for the recipe great base to work from. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made a few modifications, as my husband is a picky eater. I substituted about 1/4 of a small onion, chopped, for the mushrooms. I also used canned peas and carrots instead of frozen peas, putting them in about 5 minutes before we ate. It was really good! I served it over biscuits. It was more pot pie than a la king, but delicious none the less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe - reminded me of home, as a kid. For those who want to cut the fat content and also reduce the need to thicken - use low fat mushroom soup instead of cream and non-hydrogenated margarine instead of butter. Thanks for this - I will use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Great feedback from previous users. My mama used to do the chic a la king using pimentoes. I've used fresh red pepper for crunch and small diced celery for a bit more texture. Served over coloured pasta. Sprinkle of glazed almonds. Delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I took the advice of other reviews and added onion and garlic. To bulk it up I added a cup of frozen Thai stir fry vegies and a teaspoon of sugar. I also used 2 tbs of sour cream and half a tsp of dried tarragon. This was fantastic and will be used on a regular basis. Thanks to karin and all the helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is a pretty good meal. Good compliments from my husband. One of my kids ate it up, the picky one ate a little without complaining but wasn't excited about it, he did eat some though. And my 15 month old ate it pretty good. Not the kind of recipe that I could say can't wait to have it again, but will probably have it after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Over all very yummy. I felt it needed more something. I sauted onions and added some seasoning salt. Everyone loved it. A awsome base recipie that can be changed to each families tastes thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made this for my family last night & they loved it! It makes just barely enough for 4 people, but if you can up the ingredients a bit, you can cover 4. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is awesome! I used canned mushrooms cuz I didn't have any fresh & did end up adding some cornstarch to make it a little thicker but the flavor was great. We all loved it. It's not the normal creamed turkey/chicken that I'm used to--it was way better! Thanks so much for this recipe-it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This was a perfect recipe for leftover thanksgiving turkey. I doubled the recipe and ended up adding some cornstarch and milk to thicken it a bit. I made bisquick cheddar biscuits and poured it over the top....TOTAL comfort food right there! This recipe's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States