Turkey a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
How do you make the puff pastry boat that is in the photo? That part of the recipe should be included since that is what is in the picture. I added some thyme, rosemary, and sage for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Pretty good as is, but I like to saute my mushrooms with some chopped onions and a couple minced cloves of garlic in a little bit of olive oil, then add to my sauce. I skip the heavy cream using 2% milk instead. It still comes out nice and flavorful without unnecessary fat and calories. I also always add a jar of chopped pimiento when I add the turkey and peas. It really makes the dish not only prettier, but kicks it up a notch flavor-wise. I always triple (at least!) the recipe because it is such a hit at our house, everyone wants more the next day! This is also great served over egg noodles, but I most often serve it over buttermilk biscuits - yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Added some corn starch to thicken it up. Also added about a teaspoon of sherry. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I change the serving to 26 and I got 23 6oz servings. I sub mix veggies for the peas. Add 1/4 cup cornstarch to tighten it up. Serve over biscuits Feed seniors group
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
We all found this to be very blah, it needs more seasoning like Worcestershire sauce and onion. something, so sorry wont make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My husband and I loved this! I doubled the recipe, added more fresh mushrooms, peas, and carrots, used leftover turkey stock, and a generous amount of fresh-ground pepper. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irlandese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I've been eating the cream soup version of this since childhood - and I'm 66. My mother always served it in the Pepperidge Farm puff pastry shells which we loved - we lived near the original Pepperidge Farm in Connecticut. I make it now using this recipe, rather than the soup version. I often add a touch of curry powder, to jazz up the taste ambit, and always garnish it with toasted slivered almonds. It's a family favorite - always with the crisp puff pastry to contrast with the creamy filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Easy and tasty! I used light sour cream instead of heavy whipping cream to make it healthier. Served over the leftover biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I always triple or quadruple the ingredients to make enough for family of 5 and to have leftovers. I use a bag of frozen mixed vegetables to make it more tasty. Also if you want the sauce to be thick at all add 1 T flour for every 1 T butter in the white sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States