Turkey a la King Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Just like my Mother used to make, very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
We liked this recipes alot. It was a bit runny though. Next time I think I'll only use 1/2 can of water. Also, I didn't have peas so I substituted green beans and it was good. No sherry either so I used Pinot Grigio in its place. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed it and it was easy to make. Served over wide egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a good recipe. I liked the flavor that the sherry adds. I didn't have the cream so used milk instead of water. It was a bit runny so I added more turkey (about 3 cups). Didn't have cream of chicken soup so used cream of mushroom and added 1 tsp of dry chicken stock. I also added a bit of Frank's hot sauce to spice it up a bit. I'm used to having turkey a la king served over wide noodles from when I was a kid - we didn't have any so served it over left over stuffing. Yum! Overall a good recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom in Calgary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
What a hearty, filling dish...and it didn't seem like recycled Thanksgiving dinner! I floated scoops of stuffing on the top the last few minutes of simmering, like you would drop a dumpling. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MATTSBELLY
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
As far as "a la king" goes this was so good! I used fresh parsley (had some left from Thanksgiving to use up) and added a little extra sherry towards the end. I only had heavy cream but that worked fine. We loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Got Leftovers just Sick of haveing Turkey Sandwiches for weeks after the feast well now here comes the Turkey a la King Deluxe Definatly the best turkey dish known to man those people who rate it one star are just CRAZY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We really liked this. The only major change I made was adding a small chopped onion instead of onion powder. We love onions. Plus I had some shredded carrots so I just used those. I served it over rice and it was very tasty. Added some shaved parm to the top, too. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
quick and tasty over brown rice - I just used cream of mushroom soup since I had no mushrooms, omitted the salt and used a can of lowfat milk in lieu of water and half&half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was a super easy weeknight supper, and a great way to use up leftover turkey. Since I did not have the exact ingredients called for I substituted a little. My kids don't like mushrooms, sadly, but I used chopped onion and a stalk of celery, diced. I omitted the onion powder. I also didn't have the sherry so I used white wine. I know traditionally a la King uses sherry, but with a dash of sugar I think it turned out great. I served this over hot biscuits instead of noodles, and it was a nice change. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very bland-i had to add sauteed shallots, more salt & pepper, rosemary, and thyme before it had any sort of a taste. Also only added 1/2 can water and used heavy cream instead of half & half. Good base recipe-but has to be amped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States