Tunnel of Fudge Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
FANTASTIC. Followed the directions exactly, cooked for 45 minutes at 350. I greased the pan heavily based on other reviewers' comments about it being hard to get out, but I'm wondering if those folks didn't let it cool for an hour and a half like the instructions say. I did that and it plopped right out clean as a whistle. I was nervous because I was serving dinner to my husband's friends, but it was a HUGE hit! The only change I made was to the glaze, because I wanted it creamier. I added about 2 T. butter and melted in a handful of chocolate chips. The tunnel was perfect, the consistency was perfect, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Delicious, old-fashioned, "clean" flavor -- BUT ... would absolutely not come out of the pan. I followed the recipe to a T ... but it was glued in place, despite my having appropriately greased and floured the Bundt pan. It was still quite yummy, scooped into serving dishes ... but alas, it could not be served as a cut cake. Luckily, I had very gracious (and hungry) dinner guests, who didn't care. But I was disappointed. (It was also a little dry, which is why it gets only two out of five stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybobamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
6 whole eggs, 1.75 cups of butter and 4 cups of sugar -- can't be good for you at all. Tasted the batter and it tasted of sugar only with a hint of chocolate in the background. Didn't want to come out of the pan when completed cooking. When flipped onto cake platter, the fudge center oozed all over the place. Believe I'll try the recipe that uses chocolate cake mix and chocolate pudding as ingredients for the next attempt at this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This recipe was okay. My family liked it but I wasn't fond of the uncooked center part. Also, the bundt pan needs to be very well greased. My cake fell apart when I was trying to get it out of the pan and then the inside goo went everywhere. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by great_girl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I have this same recipe from a book "Cakes from Scratch in Half the Time" and it bakes at 400 for 35 minutes (using a shiny pan) It gives a nice tunnel of fudge. I have never used a glaze, just a sprinkle of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I found this cake to be very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
WARNING!!!! This cake should only be cooked for 45-50 minutes!!! Those are the directions on the Pillbury website and who should know better. I baked mine for 45 minutes because my cakes are usually done by the lesser time given on any package directions. Everyone loved this cake and I used chopped almonds instead of walnuts. It looked just like the picture. A toothpick should NOT be inserted into the center and it should NOT come out clean. It's supposed to be goopy!!! The Pillsbury website says check it instead by making sure the top is set and that the cake has started pulling away from the edge. Good Luck! It also says to cool in the pan on a wire rack for 1 1/2 hours. Then cool 2 hours before frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I made this for my sweetie's B-Day and even though I over cooked it, he loved it! He said it made the perfect brownie cake. I plan to make it again, but bake it about 5 minutes less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HCBYRD
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes... a little time consuming but worth it! I followed the recipe pretty close, except for the baking time: 55 min, and I used chopped pecans... Soooo good! Oh... I had to add an extra Tbsp of milk for the glaze also...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCBYRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Here's the deal... you definitely have to play with time/temperature based on your own oven. I have this exact recipe based on measurements and ingredients, but my version said to cook at 350 degrees for 45-50 min and wait a full hour and a half before flipping the pan. While the flavor of this recipe was amazing (my husband described it as "death by chocolate"), I could not take it to the party like I had planned to because it turned into a puddle of fudge!!! I think if I would have let it bake the full 50 minutes in my oven it would have been perfect. I knew I was in trouble when I came into the kitchen to check on the cake as it was cooling, and the cake was cracked and I could see the ooey gooey fudge inside had not set enough. I prayed that when I flipped the cake, the cracks would seal and everything would be OK. Well, when I flipped the cake, the center was definitely not done and what I ended up with was cake around the edges holding a literal pool of fudge. Yummy mistake for us, but certainly couldn't take it to a party! My only change was I used pecans rather than walnuts. Everything else I followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hickory, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States