Tunnel of Fudge Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Really not hard to make. I used fresh eggs, as I have chickens who blessed me today with a dozen. The fresher egg made for a bit longer beating after each one, but otherwise the cake is simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quinlan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe was very disappointing. I baked the cake for approximately 58 minutes and it was dry! Very disappointing, no tunnel of fudge there, It was overbaked by at least 10 minutes, too bad and I'm very sorry that I used this recipe, it was a terrible waste of alot of money on a dry cake. Disappointment!:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Better yet if you add a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Did not turn out for me but I still give it 5 stars because the fault is mine. I baked it at 325 for 55 minutes and let it cool 1.5 hours. Did not come out of the pan well, large chunks stuck which had to be scooped out. I used the baking spray, should have used my quick release coating mix. I had my doubts that this would turn out well when I took it out of the oven and it cracked and collapsed in the center. I taste tested an edge which was crunchy and tasted like a brownie edge. I don't know that I will attempt this again. If I do I will try the recipe that uses a cake mix. Most of this will be thrown out I'm sure and that is too wasteful of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Wish I had read all the reviews first. I cooked it longer than I should have and didnt get the fudge tunnel I was hoping for. everyone loved the taste but now I know to only cook for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Cook Hopper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
i actually used the original pillsbury recipe, & it was a big hit. i will put it up as soon as i have more time, but it is very similar to this. they stress that you must use the walnuts & don't skimp(i was going to skip them, glad i didn't), also, just bake until top is set(i went about 55-60, thinking 50-55 should be enough). anyway, there was a tunnel & the cake was a big hit with the 17 year old birthday boy & his dad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and baked it at 325 for 40 minutes, just until the cake pulled away from the sides and looked kinda done on top. I let it cool in the pan a bit, then flipped it over. No icing necessary. Delicious, moist, and a goopy fudge at the bottom. Rave reviews from kids ages 2 to 60!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I give this a three star because it tasted amazing but there was no tunnel or difference in texture in the cake. I baked at 310 degrees for an hour... till the cake was set up on top. Well, it sure tasted good but nothing really special about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a fine recipe! I followed it exactly, except based on the other reviewers' comments I baked it for only 55 minutes. The tunnel of fudge was just perfect - soft and buttery and delicious. I took the cake to a party yesterday where there were both adults and kids. The adults LOVED the cake, but the kids didn't think it was sweet enough. I think it would be delicious served with whipped cream! I would have given this recipe five stars except for the fact that the non-tunnel portion of the cake was somewhat dry. However, this might be the fault of my oven, and not of the recipe. The next time I make it I will cut back on the baking time by another five minutes and see if it makes a difference. Other than that, it's easy to see why this is a prizewinning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I made this for my stepsons birthday, it turned out pretty good, but wish is was a little more gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States