Tunnel of Fudge Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I made this on Januray 1st:) It was very easy and it looked beautiful when ready. I reduced oven temperature to 300F and time of baking to 50 minutes ( my oven gets really hot!) It came out perfectly. Taste was ok, not great. I think it was too dry, so did my husband. My daughter liked it. I've never had this cake before, so I believe this is how it is suppose to be, as everything worked out fine. I might try it again, maybe increasing the butter a bit? I'll take to the office tomorrow and post my co-workers opinion later. Thanks:) Ok! I'm back.. I didn't take to the office, and after two days it tasted really good. Me and my daughter kept eating it:) I think it needed time to seat..I'll be doing it again:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Oh Thank You Annie! I used to make this cake back in the 60s but my recipe called for boxed frosting mix. After the introduction of frosting-in-a-tub the boxed mixes disappeared. I made this cake yesterday and it is fabulous. I'd been having a terrible day and I needed an extra chocolate buzz so I doubled your frosting recipe and added 1 tsp of vanilla. OMG! This cake is to die for!!! Thanks again Annie! ****************** TO ISLANDREST: I guess the word fudge is a bit confusing. It's more a 'fudgey-like' layer about 2/3 of the way down inside of the cake. I'm going to make this cake again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This cake if fabulous! My family gobbled it up b4 it was cooled. I will make this again and again. Lovely fudgy center. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
i love this recipe! for those of you who have tried it and could not get the tunnel of fudge, i suggest you experiment on the baking temperature and the baking time. the first time i did this, i followed the recipe to the letter. the result was a very small tunnel. the next time i did this, i used a lower temperature for baking and 55 minutes baking time. the tunnel was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
HELP!!! Not sure wht i did wrong. The batter was very thick. The cake overflowed fro the pan as it cooked, but fell quite a bit as it was done. Any suggestions? The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HCBYRD
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes... a little time consuming but worth it! I followed the recipe pretty close, except for the baking time: 55 min, and I used chopped pecans... Soooo good! Oh... I had to add an extra Tbsp of milk for the glaze also...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCBYRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I made this for my sweetie's B-Day and even though I over cooked it, he loved it! He said it made the perfect brownie cake. I plan to make it again, but bake it about 5 minutes less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
WARNING!!!! This cake should only be cooked for 45-50 minutes!!! Those are the directions on the Pillbury website and who should know better. I baked mine for 45 minutes because my cakes are usually done by the lesser time given on any package directions. Everyone loved this cake and I used chopped almonds instead of walnuts. It looked just like the picture. A toothpick should NOT be inserted into the center and it should NOT come out clean. It's supposed to be goopy!!! The Pillsbury website says check it instead by making sure the top is set and that the cake has started pulling away from the edge. Good Luck! It also says to cool in the pan on a wire rack for 1 1/2 hours. Then cool 2 hours before frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I have this same recipe from a book "Cakes from Scratch in Half the Time" and it bakes at 400 for 35 minutes (using a shiny pan) It gives a nice tunnel of fudge. I have never used a glaze, just a sprinkle of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
FANTASTIC. Followed the directions exactly, cooked for 45 minutes at 350. I greased the pan heavily based on other reviewers' comments about it being hard to get out, but I'm wondering if those folks didn't let it cool for an hour and a half like the instructions say. I did that and it plopped right out clean as a whistle. I was nervous because I was serving dinner to my husband's friends, but it was a HUGE hit! The only change I made was to the glaze, because I wanted it creamier. I added about 2 T. butter and melted in a handful of chocolate chips. The tunnel was perfect, the consistency was perfect, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States