Tunnel of Fudge Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
i love this recipe! for those of you who have tried it and could not get the tunnel of fudge, i suggest you experiment on the baking temperature and the baking time. the first time i did this, i followed the recipe to the letter. the result was a very small tunnel. the next time i did this, i used a lower temperature for baking and 55 minutes baking time. the tunnel was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
WARNING!!!! This cake should only be cooked for 45-50 minutes!!! Those are the directions on the Pillbury website and who should know better. I baked mine for 45 minutes because my cakes are usually done by the lesser time given on any package directions. Everyone loved this cake and I used chopped almonds instead of walnuts. It looked just like the picture. A toothpick should NOT be inserted into the center and it should NOT come out clean. It's supposed to be goopy!!! The Pillsbury website says check it instead by making sure the top is set and that the cake has started pulling away from the edge. Good Luck! It also says to cool in the pan on a wire rack for 1 1/2 hours. Then cool 2 hours before frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Oh Thank You Annie! I used to make this cake back in the 60s but my recipe called for boxed frosting mix. After the introduction of frosting-in-a-tub the boxed mixes disappeared. I made this cake yesterday and it is fabulous. I'd been having a terrible day and I needed an extra chocolate buzz so I doubled your frosting recipe and added 1 tsp of vanilla. OMG! This cake is to die for!!! Thanks again Annie! ****************** TO ISLANDREST: I guess the word fudge is a bit confusing. It's more a 'fudgey-like' layer about 2/3 of the way down inside of the cake. I'm going to make this cake again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I made this on Januray 1st:) It was very easy and it looked beautiful when ready. I reduced oven temperature to 300F and time of baking to 50 minutes ( my oven gets really hot!) It came out perfectly. Taste was ok, not great. I think it was too dry, so did my husband. My daughter liked it. I've never had this cake before, so I believe this is how it is suppose to be, as everything worked out fine. I might try it again, maybe increasing the butter a bit? I'll take to the office tomorrow and post my co-workers opinion later. Thanks:) Ok! I'm back.. I didn't take to the office, and after two days it tasted really good. Me and my daughter kept eating it:) I think it needed time to seat..I'll be doing it again:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I am really confused, There was not a tunnel of fudge inside this cake. Did I prepare incorrectly? I liked the cake but was disappointed that there was not a tunnel of fudge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This cake was extremely heavy and more like fudge. My boyfriend has been wanting me to make this for him (his grandmother used to make it)...but I have yet to find the right recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This is really wonderful! The prep time is fast, the cooking time is somewhat long, but worth the wait! I didn't have enough icing sugar to make the glaze so I just took a sieve and sprinkled the icing sugar on top and it looked great! The people at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Christoval, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I have this same recipe from a book "Cakes from Scratch in Half the Time" and it bakes at 400 for 35 minutes (using a shiny pan) It gives a nice tunnel of fudge. I have never used a glaze, just a sprinkle of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a fine recipe! I followed it exactly, except based on the other reviewers' comments I baked it for only 55 minutes. The tunnel of fudge was just perfect - soft and buttery and delicious. I took the cake to a party yesterday where there were both adults and kids. The adults LOVED the cake, but the kids didn't think it was sweet enough. I think it would be delicious served with whipped cream! I would have given this recipe five stars except for the fact that the non-tunnel portion of the cake was somewhat dry. However, this might be the fault of my oven, and not of the recipe. The next time I make it I will cut back on the baking time by another five minutes and see if it makes a difference. Other than that, it's easy to see why this is a prizewinning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
SORRY- I followed this recipe to a T and it was DRY!!!!! It tasted more like chocolate bread with good chocolate frosting. I crumbled it and put it into a trifle. I'll keep looking for a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States